Smoothies!

20120327-153951.jpg

This title reminds me of Cameron Diaz in What Happens in Vegas. She wakes up Ashton Kutcher as he is sleeping on the sofa by very loudly whipping up her morning smoothie in a blender and yelling, “Smoothies!” LOL. That scene makes me laugh every time.

I adore smoothies. Who doesn’t? Smoothies you order at places like Keva Juice, while tasty, typically come with a hefty amount of calories. I started making my own protein shakes at home to cut the calories and, I must say, they are delicious! Jon now requests his own, and he is known to be a bit picky. I make one of these every morning for breakfast and take it to work with me. It keeps me full until around lunch time.

I make different variations but this smoothie is the one I make most often. The recipe makes a rather large shake and could be split between two people, although I drink it all to myself. 🙂

Berry Banana Protein Shake

1 or 1/2 banana

1 cup frozen mixed berries

1 heaping scoop of vanilla protein powder (I use 365 Everyday Value Whey Protein Powder in Natural Vanilla Flavor from Whole Foods. It’s all natural, sweetened with zero-calorie stevia, has 16g of protein per scoop and only 80 calories)

1 6 oz. container of raspberry or strawberry greek yogurt (I usually use Chobani.)

Almond Milk-The amount depends on how thick you like your shakes. I like about 8 oz. (I use Almond Breeze Unsweetened Vanilla)

2-3 packets of stevia or your preferred no-calorie sweetener

Ice

Blend up and enjoy!

20120326-164302.jpg

Nail Polish Update: Wearing Essie Nice is Nice

20120328-082347.jpg

8 thoughts on “Smoothies!

  1. That looks delicious! Where did you get the cup you bring it to work in?

    I discovered Green Monster smoothies on Pinterest. They sound scary because you put spinach in them but I swear they are SOOO good. Here is a link to the recipe I kind of follow. I make some of my own changes – like I use 0% milk and plain non-fat Greek yogurt (there are less calories in the plain) and I add some kind of berry for sweetness. Also if I don’t freeze the bananas (which I don’t ever do because I apparently can’t plan ahead) I use a little crushed ice. Please try it and tell me what you think!!!
    http://iowagirleats.com/2012/01/04/my-top-secret-diet-weapon/

  2. I think I got the cup at Albertsons but they haven’t had them in stock the last few times I have been. I know Target sells them. The brand is Aladdin. I am a little scared to try it with spinach but I have heard now several times that it takes delicious and you don’t actually taste spinach. I will try it, I promise! Thanks for the recipe!

  3. I just made it!…..Greg and I make smoothies a lot, but they never keep me full. With all my training I am in need of a protein boost. I just made this with a few changes. I did plain Chobani and used strawberries (other berries are expensive right now) and I must say it was very good! I didn’t add any extra sweetener (I think the strawberries were pretty sweet). It just a hint of vanilla from the protein powder I think. It was good! The protein powder has 16 g of protein and the chobani plain has 18 g…..so that may help me out a lot! I hope I don’t kill my kidneys!

  4. YAY!!! The yogurt adds a nice creaminess to it. I sometimes use plain greek yogurt too. It cuts back on the calories and carbs significantly. When I do use plain I add in an extra sweetener packet. I like it pretty sweet. 🙂 And the greek yogurt does have a ton of protein, which is perfect. i’m so glad you liked it! YUM.

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

