Springtime Perfumes

20120328-193251.jpg

Now that spring has sprung, the temperature has warmed considerably. With the new weather comes the transition from rich, warm winter perfumes to light and breezy fragrances. Here are my current favorite spring perfumes:

Chanel No. 5 Eau Premiere

I adore the original Chanel No. 5. While I realize it’s not for everybody, I love the powdery, feminine, floral richness of the fragrance. Nothing else smells quite like it. I think the warm heaviness of it makes it much more suitable as a fall and winter perfume. I was thrilled when I received the Eau Premiere version as a Christmas gift from my dad last year. It smells nearly identical to the original, with the same floral, soapy base notes, but it’s much lighter. The powdery aspect of the original has been toned down and it has a layer of citrus. These differences make it a perfect spring perfume. I have the parfum and the smell doesn’t last as long as the original, but it’s still fantastic. The bottle is lovely as well.

Chanel describes Eau Premiere as a “decidedly lighter, fresher, softer interpretation of N°5. . . a silky-smooth harmony of notes that reveals the delicate facet of the now and forever fragrance.”

Notes: mandarin, bergamot, aldehydes, jasmine, neroli, ylang-ylang, rose, vetiver, vanilla

Chanel Chance Eau Tendre

I think Chanel makes the absolute best fragrances and this perfume is no exception. The Chance perfumes (Chance, Eau Tendre and Eau Fraiche) have been ridiculed quite a bit by perfume experts and reviewers but I love it regardless. This perfume was a gift from my mom and it’s one of my all time favorites. It’s sweet with floral and fruit notes, but not heavy, and very clean. It has a shower fresh fragrance to me that I love.

Chanel describes it as “both delicate and radiant, with an intoxicatingly light, fruity trail. An unexpected mingling of grapefruit and quince meets the crispness of fresh green notes, while a trace of Jasmine Absolute lingers in the air. Gently warmed by a sheer veil of White Musk.”

Notes: grapefruit, melon, quince, hyacinth, jasmine, white musk, Virginia cedar, amber

Philosophy Amazing Grace

This delightful fragrance is a year-round favorite for me.  Amazing Grace is floral, but not overly sweet.  It’s ultra feminine and I get comments on how fantastic it smells when I wear it.  Nothing else smells quite like it.  It has a soapy, clean aspect to it as well.  I also use the matching body wash and lotion when I wear it, and it helps the smell last longer.

Philosophy describes the fragrance as “a uniquely feminine blend of soft, floral blossoms accented by a hint of light musk.”

Notes:  mandarin orange, grapefruit and bergamot, freesia, jasmine, rose, musk

What are you favorite warm weather perfumes?

10 thoughts on “Springtime Perfumes

  1. I absolutely love Chanel chance (pink bottle) I just bought it an couldn’t be happier…I get compliments on it all the time. The smell is addicting!!

  2. Yes, it is just so good! I want to try some of the Tokyo Milk perfumes that Blush sells. I will have to stock up when I come visit you in Portland!

    • Tokyo milk is by far one of my favorite fragrance/hand cream lines. Tainted love is my #1, followed by dead sexy. They are really reasonably priced too… Always a plus 😉

  3. Oh, I didn’t know they had candles, Lor! Paula got me the Tokyo Milk Honey & the Moon hand cream and it was heavenly. I ran out and need to replace it. Devon, yes, that is one of the best perfumes ever! You can’t go wrong with Chanel. I get headaches from perfumes so easily and none of the Chanels do that to me. Thanks for your feedback girls! 🙂

  4. Pingback: My New Favorite Perfume: Issey Miyake L’Eau d’Issey | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

