My Skincare Routine

We all know that proper skincare is crucial for preventing wrinkles and looking healthy. It also ensures that makeup applies easily and blends well. When skin is dry or broken out, foundations, concealers, blush, etc. aren’t able to blend evenly and can end up looking blotchy or cakey. Keeping my ultra-dry skin hydrated and healthy is top priority for me.  Here are the most important things I do every day to keep my skin in great shape:

1. I always wash my face before bed

We’ve heard this over and over but it’s so important to wash away all the makeup and dirt from your day. I’m currently using Image Skincare Vital C Hydrating Cream Cleanser. It smells like oranges and gently melts away all my makeup without drying my skin out. I wash my face before bed and I don’t wash it again in the morning. With my skin being so dry, I don’t want to strip it of any moisture when it’s already clean. On the rare occasions I’m too exhausted or lazy for washing my face at night I use these while I’m in bed.

2. Exfoliate!

Cleansing is so important but most cleansers don’t get rid of dead skin. Dead skin can leave your complexion dull and dried out. I prefer a gentle exfoliator for daily use and I use something more intense on a weekly basis.  After I cleanse every night I lightly exfoliate with Lush Angels on Bare Skin. It’s a natural, gentle lavender scrub/cleanser. It’s full of kaolin clay for deep cleansing and ground almonds for gentle exfoliation. The rose and lavender sooth and balance skin. It has a very natural, herbally smell that I was put off by at first. I’ve been using it for 6 months and I really enjoy the smell now.

3. Moisturize, Moisturize, Moisturize, Sunscreen, Sunscreen, Sunscreen!!!!

Living in a desert climate with my dry skin, I worry about premature wrinkling. Keeping skin moisturized and protected from the sun is extremely important. During the day I’m currently using Neutrogena Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Cream SPF 15. I put this on as soon as I wake up in the morning and let it soak in before I apply makeup. I also put this lotion on my neck, because the sun hits there too!

At night I use Vinies Dry Skin Dew Drops. This serum is a delightful blend of essential oils and it has a beautiful floral fragrance. It leaves my skin glowing. I apply 100% Pure Super Fruits Night Balm on top of the Dew Drops. I told you my skin’s dry! This balm is all natural and it’s full of powerful anti-aging fruits.

I use eye cream in the morning and at night. I’m currently loving 100% Pure Organic Coffee Bean Caffeine Eye Cream. It’s full of caffeine and green tea, which reduce puffiness, dark circles and fine lines. The Dr. Oz Show recently featured this eye cream as a “top anti-aging innovation”! I put this on as soon as I wake up and by the time I get dressed and do my makeup my previously swollen eyes are completely depuffed.

4. Drink a LOT of water

Water has a TON of health benefits, and it also hydrates your skin and helps keep it clear.  I hate having to count how many glasses I’ve had a day so I take this everywhere I go and try to drink at least one of these a day. It’s 2.2 liters. One of my best friends owns a spa and she says she can instantly tell when a patient is dehydrated due to the way the skin feels during a facial.

5.  Monthly Facials

Daily cleansing and moisturizing is fantastic but skin can also benefit from a little extra TLC every once in a while.  I get monthly facials at my friend’s spa, Broadway Skin & Body Retreat.  I look forward to this pampering session every month and I always leave with skin that’s positively glowing.  Facials are certainly an added expense but I feel like investing in my skin is a wise choice.  I get my Image Skincare, Vinies and 100% Pure products from this spa as well.

8 thoughts on “My Skincare Routine

  1. Great post Arantha! Thanks for the shout out! You already have amazing skin but it’s good to know you are following a proper skincare regime at home aside from your profesional treatments! Can’t wait to see you this weekend! xoxo

  2. Pingback: 6 Steps to Luminous Skin | Gourmet Beauty

  3. Pingback: My Current Skincare Routine & Product Favorites | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

