6 Steps to Luminous Skin

I prefer a dewy, luminous glow over a matte look any day. Particularly in warm weather. Taking proper care of you skin and drinking tons of water is the first step in getting this look (you can see my skincare routine & tips here). Once you have that down, you can use products to enhance the appearance of your skin. My favorite blogger, Emily of Cupcakes & Cashmere, does a great dewy makeup how-to here.  Here are my tips and products for achieving a dewy glow:

20120507-100744.jpg

1. Moisturize before applying any makeup

This is a very important step, wether you’re going for a dewy look or not. When skin is dry, makeup can’t apply and set smoothly. I apply moisturizer first thing in the morning, let it soak in while I get ready for my day and then apply my makeup.

2. Opt for tinted moisturizer over foundation

Foundation can be too heavy on the skin and create too much coverage, which decreases luminosity. I swear by Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20. It’s a bit pricey but well worth it. It lasts for awhile and give the most beautiful, sheer coverage.

If you have a foundation that you really like make your own tinted moisturizer by mixing your foundation with your daily face lotion.

3. Use a liquid illuminator

I’ve tried several and NARS Illuminator in Copacabana is my favorite. you can use an illuminator many different ways but I prefer to mix a drop in with my tinted moisturizer and apply both together. If you prefer to use it separately, use sparingly and apply to cheek bones and bridge of nose. Blend really well.

On lazy weekends when I’m wearing little to no makeup I’ll skip the tinted moisturizer, blend the illuminator in with my daily moisturizer, apply some lipgloss and be done!

4. Use a bit of bronzer

I love Nars Bronzing Powder in Laguna. It’s gives really smooth, even color and blends easily so I’m never left with any accidents. Lightly sweep the bronzer all over your face, particularly your cheek bones and nose.

5. Finish with cheek color and shimmer powder

For my cheek color I alternate between Tarte Cheek Stain in True Love and Nars powder blush in Orgasm. The cheek stain will enhance the dewy factor more than the powder blush will, but both are great.

I finish off the look with a swipe of MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft & Gentle. It’s a light shimmer powder that gives a luminous glow.

This may sound like a lot of makeup but I use each of these products very sparingly so I don’t end up looking too overdone, cakey, shimmery, etc.

6. Spritz with a facial water or toner

To set your makeup and enhance luminosity I spritz on either Evian Mineral Water Spray or Lush Breath of Fresh Air toner. I like to keep one of these in my bag for a mist of hydration and refreshment throughout the day and also to freshen the appearance of my makeup.

What are your favorite tricks & products to achieve luminous skin?

9 thoughts on “6 Steps to Luminous Skin

  1. Pingback: Spring Makeup Trend: Fuschia Lips | Gourmet Beauty

  2. Pingback: New Beauty Find! BeautyBlender Makeup Applicator | Gourmet Beauty

  3. Pingback: New Favorite Lipstick! CoverGirl LipPerfection Lipstick in Delish | Gourmet Beauty

  4. Pingback: Two products that will give you glowing skin | Gourmet Beauty

  5. Pingback: My 5 Most Popular Posts on Pinterest in 2012 | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

