Panko Crusted Mahi-Mahi

I was home alone again last week and wanted to cook myself an actual meal instead of just a snack for dinner, like I normally do when I’m alone. I hadn’t gone grocery shopping and was short on a lot of ingredients so I looked for a recipe that was simple and fast. The Fit Cook is one of my favorite food bloggers and I’ve tried one of her recipes before here (which was AMAZING). I went looking on her blog for the perfect dinner for one.

This dish only called for a mild white fish, panko bread crumbs, coconut oil and lime juice. I always have these ingredients on hand! It was really fast to prep and cook and it turned out to be absolutely delicious. The coconut oil adds a very mild tropical taste to it, which is enhanced by the fresh lime juice that gets squeezed on after it’s cooked. I ate this with a side of my parmesan lemon roasted broccolini, which turned this into a gourmet dinner for one!

I highly recommend this easy dinner and I also suggest you check out Luisana’s blog for more nutritious, simple and delicious recipes. Plus, she is one the prettiest people I’ve ever seen! Totally irrelevant but this is also a beauty blog after all! šŸ™‚

20120511-170428.jpg

Enjoy!

Panko Crusted Mahi-Mahi (Serves 2)

Adapted from The Fit Cook

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon virgin unrefined coconut oil
  • 2 fillets of mahi (I used the frozen version from Trader Joes)
  • 1/3 cup panko bread crumbs
  • salt, pepper, lemon pepper
  • lime wedges to serve

Directions

  • Heat the oil in a large non-stick pan over medium-high heat.
  • Pat the fillets dry with a paper towel, then season both sides with salt, pepper and lemon pepper
  • Add the panko to a large dish. Dredge the fish in the panko on both sides, using a spoon to press it on if necessary
  • Add the fish to the pan. Cook 2 minutes on each side, or until crispy and cooked through.
  • Squeeze the desired amount of lime juice on each piece (I like a lot of juice, about two wedges per fillet)
  • Serve with lime wedges for garnish
One thought on “Panko Crusted Mahi-Mahi

  1. Pingback: Lemon Scented Salmon with Dijon Roasted Red Potatoes | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

