Sunless Tanning Part 1: 2 Crucial Steps For a Great Sunless Tan

Now that the warm weather has arrived, I’ve been doing the sunless tanning thing. I’m naturally very pale and I normally embrace it. During the summer when bathing suits and dresses are clothing staples, I do like to have a bit of a glow while keeping my skin safe. I used to tan in tanning beds (gasp, I know) in my college years and I loved the look of being tan. I’m now very educated on the horrors of tanning so I never step foot in a tanning bed now.

Whether I get a professional spray tan or do it at home with a lotion, there are two extremely important steps you must take before getting the actual tan to ensure the color distributes evenly. A friend of mine requested that I share these steps on my blog so here they are! This is for you Miss Isabel!

Exfoliate!

This is so important and is often a step that’s skipped. Exfoliating helps get rid of dead skin and leave a smooth surface for the tan to absorb into. If you don’t exfoliate, your tan could end up looking streaky and it won’t last as long because dead skin sheds quickly, which means your tan will be gone before you know it.

Before you get a sunless tan, exfoliate in the shower. If you have the Clarisonic PLUS, you can use that as a body exfoliator. I have the Mia version and that isn’t mean to be used on the body. I exfoliate with a body scrub. I really like 100% Pure Body Scrubs. They’re packed with skin brightening fruit acids, have tons of delicious scents and are totally natural. These scrubs are full of oils so I exfoliate a day before I’m going to either apply sunless tanner or get a spray tan. If you are going to be getting the tan the same day, do NOT use an oil-based scrub. All that oil will make your skin slick and the tanning product can’t fully absorb into the skin and develop color. Clinique makes a fantastic body scrub that isn’t oil-based, called Sparkle Skin Body Exfoliating Cream. This pretty lady (my cousin) introduced me to it and I love it.

If you need to shave, do it before applying the tanner, because it will take off some of your color.

Moisturize!

While you don’t want your skin covered in oil prior to getting a sunless tan, you also don’t want bone dry skin. Getting the tan on parched skin will leave streaks and patches that you won’t like! Applying on hydrated skin lets the color absorb evenly and smoothly.

Be sure to slather your whole body in a rich lotion or cream prior to tanning. I really like Jergens Original Scent Cherry-Almond lotion because it absorbs quickly and isn’t greasy at all. If my skin is really dry I’ll use 100% Pure Honey Almond Body Cream. I like to give the moisturizer at least 30 minutes to absorb before applying tanner. The longer you wait, the better.

Now that you know the two crucial steps you should NEVER skip when sunless tanning, stay tuned for my post next week about my favorite products to achieve the perfect summer glow!

8 thoughts on “Sunless Tanning Part 1: 2 Crucial Steps For a Great Sunless Tan

  1. Great tips! Sparkle Skin is great! You just reminded me I need to self-tan tonight. I need to get my summertime glow on! Can’t wait to hear about your fav products!

  2. Thanks for sharing! I’ve been wanting to try sunless tanning but don’t know anything about it. Do you have any recs on how dark you should go when you sunless tan for the first time?

    • Hey Iz! My next post is about airbrush tanning. Mystic Tan and the best at home products to use. The darkness does depend on your natural skintone. For you I would say to go with medium if you are getting Mystic. Light would not show up on you much at all.

  3. Pingback: Sunless Tanning Part 2: My Favorite Ways to Get a Sunless Tan | Gourmet Beauty

  4. Pingback: Toronto Beauty Jobs – Skin Care Expiry | Beauty Nine To Five

  5. Pingback: My Fave Sunless Tanners! | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

