Sunless Tanning Part 2: My Favorite Ways to Get a Sunless Tan

Happy Tuesday! Don’t forget about my amazing lip balm giveaway that started yesterday! If you haven’t entered already, go do it now! Also, voting has opened up for Albuquerque The Magazine’s Best of the City 2012. I would so appreciate your vote as best blogger. This is listed under the “People” category of the survey. Even if you aren’t from Albuqerque you can vote, and I’d just love it if you did! 🙂 Here is the link to the survey. Please and thank you!

As a follow-up to my previous post last week about sunless tanning, here are my favorite ways to get a natural-looking, summery glow:

Airbrush Tan $35

Getting airbrushed is the best possible way to get a tan because someone is manually applying the product all over your body and making sure it’s evenly distributed. My best friend owns Broadway Skin & Body Retreat and gives fantastic airbrush tans using South Seas airbrush system. I’ve had many from her and it always turns out gorgeous. It lasts between 3-7 days, depending on the amount of activity, swimming, showering, etc. Also, keeping skin moisturized after getting the tan helps prolong the color.

Mystic Tan $30

Mystic Tan is another great way to get a safe tan. They have upgraded their systems over the last few years and the color is much more evenly dispersed. It’s nearly fool-proof, as long as you hold your hands out properly and use the provided barrier cream on your knuckles, wrists and ankles.

Image Skincare Body Spa Face & Body Bronzer Creme $26

This is by far the BEST tanning lotion I’ve ever used, and I’ve used a LOT. It has a light tropical smell and doesn’t have a strong scent like most tanning creams. It can be used on both face and body, unlike the other products I list below. It distributes gorgeous color that develops gradually. Image Skincare is a fantastic line of face and body products that can only be purchased through professionals. I buy mine at Broadway Skin & Body Retreat.

Jergens Natural Glow Daily Moisturizer $8.79

This really is an amazing product. It’s no wonder it continues to win beauty awards and fly off the shelves. They have different shades so you get the one that’s right for your skin tone and it provides gradual, buildable color. You don’t wake up tan after using it, but with regular use you can achieve the color you want and maintain it.

L’Oreal Sublime Bronze Self-Tanning Lotion $9.49

Before I discovered the Image cream, this was my go-to tanning lotion for deep color. First of all, it smells fantastic. It has a perfume-like scent to it that I love. It also has a bit of color to the cream itself and some shimmer, so skin is left with a beautiful sheen as soon you as you apply it. Like most tanning lotions, I have had a few mistakes with this but it was mostly user error. This is a fantastic product and it gives a pretty, natural-looking tan color to the skin. It also comes in medium and deep shades so you can pick the right color for you.

Sally Hansen Airbrush Legs Leg Makeup $12.79

While this isn’t exactly a self-tanner, it is an absolutely amazing water-resistent product that gives legs a natural tan color when applied. I’m totally hooked on this stuff. Any time I didn’t remember to put on tanning cream before wearing a dress I spray this miraculous leg makeup on and voila! Gorgeous, lightly tanned legs with an airbrush finish. Any scars, bumps,veins and discolorations are covered. It’s very natural looking yet it gives really noticeable and gorgeous color and coverage. It does have a bit of shimmer to it but you can only see it in direct sunlight. I use the light version but they have one for darker skin as well. It absorbs fast (within 60 seconds) and won’t budge until you wash it off with soap and a wash cloth or body pouf. Just spray it directly onto skin or to your hands (a little goes a loooong way) and then apply. Either way you do need to rub it in to get even coverage. You don’t just spray it and it’s done. Be sure to apply it BEFORE you get dressed. It will stain clothes and it’s not easy to get out. But seriously, go get some of this stuff. Now.

What are your favorite sunless tanning products?

12 thoughts on “Sunless Tanning Part 2: My Favorite Ways to Get a Sunless Tan

  1. Great post Ran! I’m back to the versa spa myself! I love all the backup suggestions though, sometimes I just don’t wanna spray. We also sell a great tanning mousse that can be mixed with a little bit of regular moisturizer for an even, natural looking tan by St. Tropes 😉 I just put my vote in for best blogger! Good luck honey! Love you… Keep me posted

  2. I used to use Jergens all the time! My new favorite is St. Tropez bronze mousse, its more pricey than I like…. but its perfect for special occasions! Work so well, I’m pasty white so self tanner is a life saver 🙂 I’ll have to try that Image Skincare!

    • Hi Kristina! I’ve heard of the St. Tropez mousse…I think you can get it at Sephora? I’ll have to try that ASAP! The Image stuff is amazing but the downside is you have to buy it through a professional, you can’t just order it online. 😦

  3. Hey Arantha! Great post! A sunless tan is always the safest way to achieve a summer glow without the damaging effects of UVA/UVB rays. I love the Image sunless tanner. 🙂

  4. Great Post! My favorite way is definitely airbrushing! I just wish it wasn’t so pricey each time. I’m in LOVE with Victoria’s Secret Beach Sexy. It gives me a golden, but not orange, glow! It does take a bit to dry though. I usually just apply it and then do my hair and makeup while it drys. I need to try this Image Skincare you speak so highly of! 🙂

    • Ohhhh…I’ll have to try the Victoria’s Secret one. Maybe it’s on sale now that the semi annual sale is going on!

  5. Pingback: 7 Summer Beauty Essentials « Peace Love and Glitter

  6. Pingback: My Fave Sunless Tanners! | Gourmet Beauty

  7. I see your page is outranked by many competitors in google.
    You should spy their backlinks and use them for your site and you will hit top 2 very fast.

    There is useful tool for this, just search google for – rilkim’s tips

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

