Happy Things

Happy Friday!  I’m been having a nice few days off, lounging at home, seeing friends and enjoying some much needed rain and gloomy weather!  I recently finished 50 Shades of Grey and was so massively dissapointed by the horrendous writing, lack of plot and the constant use of the phrases Jeez  and Oh my that I can’t couldn’t bring myself to buy the last two in the trilogy.  Instead, I whipped through Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn this week, one of my favorite authors.  I suggest all three of her books if you like thriller and crime novels. Her writing is outstanding.  I’m now onto Savages by Don Winslow, so I can read the book before I see the movie (can’t wait!).

I hope everyone has a fantastic weekend!  Here are a few things that made my week wonderful.  All photos are from Instagram (username: GourmetBeauty).

20120705-192326.jpg

{The great memories of my 10-year high school reunion from last weekend.  So nice to be reunited with my high school group of best friends}

20120705-192344.jpg

{Essie nail polish in Too Too Hot, the perfect coral red for the 4th of July}

20120705-192401.jpg

{Lazy mornings in bed}

20120705-192409.jpg

{A pretty statement necklace from Francesca’s that brightens up any simple summer sweater}

20120705-192425.jpg

{Jon and I spent the 4th with some great friends.  This is Paula and me enjoying the rainstorm, the fireworks and some beer.  A similar striped dress can be found here}

20120705-192430.jpg

{My tequila soaked watermelon was a HIT at the 4th of July party.  Simple and delicious recipe coming next week on the blog}

What are a few things making you happy this week?

9 thoughts on “Happy Things

  1. First, I have to buy that nail polish.
    Things that made me happy this week: snow cones, Caribou Coffee (actually delicious), and meeting the guy of my dreams while on an adventure to meet the guy of my dreams.
    Yeah. It’s been a week.
    Drinks soon?

    • Wow, you had a great week! Yes, that polish is to die for. Yes drinks soon! Devon and I do Jinja happy hour often, maybe we could do that all tigether!

  2. Fifty Shades was so bad, I made it through the first love scene and said enough is enough! Mike was calling it “Fifty Shades of Poo” and told me I can’t read anymore because I was having violent thoughts about beating Anastasia senseless. I am really looking forward to the tequila watermelon, however. I love your blog!

  3. Hahaha, love the part about Fifty Shades. I have no interest in reading it. Can’t wait for the tequila watermelon recipe! Hope you have a great weekend! Can’t wait to see your Dad next week! Love you!

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

