Prime those lashes, ladies!

I’m not sure why I haven’t been doing this my whole life. My June Beauty of the Month, Lauryn Evarts, shares her best kept beauty secret, priming her lashes! I purchased MAC Prep Prime Lash to try this little trick out and I’m in love. My lashes are fairly thick but they aren’t long at all. I’m always trying to get my lashes long, thick, dark and lush looking without getting them spidery and this totally achieves that look for me.

I do my eye makeup first, then swipe lashes with 2-3 coats of primer. I then apply several coats of my FAVORITE mascara EVER, L’Oreal Voluminous. The primer makes a great base for the mascara to glide onto easily without clumping. It also prevents the mascara from flaking and it conditions the lashes. It makes the lashes fatter and longer than mascara does alone.

Here are my lashes without anything on them:

20120709-120903.jpg

Here are my lashes after priming and using the Voluminous mascara:

20120709-120909.jpg

Don’t they look awesome?! They look fake! As you can see, I like dramatic lashes. You can definitely get a more natural look using primer by applying one coat of mascara. I apply several. Whatever your preference on natural, dramatic, etc., the primer gives the mascara a perfect base for building length and volume while staying all day without flakes.

Do you prime your lashes?

10 thoughts on “Prime those lashes, ladies!

  1. Hey girlie! I do prime my lashes also. I have blonde/nothing lashes without mascara so, like you, I put 3 or 4 coats on. A friend recently shared the primer idea and I love it. I am using Revlon Lash Fantasy Total Definition and it works great.
    Thanks for sharing all your tips. I enjoy reading your blog every morning.
    I love you, Arantha!

  2. Wow Arantha!! Your lashes look great.. I will definitely have to try this primer out.. I will let you know my thoughts 🎀
    Thanks for the tip
    Mallory

  3. Pingback: New Favorite Lipstick! CoverGirl LipPerfection Lipstick in Delish | Gourmet Beauty

  4. Pingback: My 10 Favorite Beauty Products From 2012! | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

