Happy Things

Happy Friday! I’m looking forward to a long holiday weekend filled with reading, relaxing, friends and getting ready for our upcoming Hawaii family vacation! We leave early next week for Oahu with Jon’s family and we are so looking forward to a tropical getaway! I hope you all have a wonderful weekend. If you’re attending any BBQs I would highly suggest bringing my tequila soaked watermelon wedges with you. They are easy and will instantly make you the life of the party. 🙂 Here are the highlights of my week in pictures!

{The Marriott resort in Oahu that we will be staying at next week!}

20120830-112253.jpg{Philosophy Amazing Grace perfume was my go-to scent this week. After my August Beauty listed that in her top 5 beauty essentials I pulled it out of my medicine cabinet and now I remember how wonderful it is. LOVE this scent.}

20120830-112301.jpg{Pinot Noir and Call of Duty on Xbox Live with Jon was a great way to spend an evening. Yes, I play video games. I’m actually pretty good!}

20120830-112309.jpg{Crab legs were definitely my favorite meal this week! We had a date night at Pelicans, one of our favorite spots, and I ordered my usual crab legs with steamed vegetables instead of rice. Little modifications like that make it possible to eat healthy at restaurants. I also use mostly fresh lemon juice on the crab instead of drenching it in butter. It still tastes heavenly, I swear.}

20120830-112316.jpg{MAC Snob was my lipstick of choice this week. This is probably my favorite shade of all time next to Creme Cup. I need a new tube, clearly.}

20120830-112325.jpg{My blogging friend Kayla from Peace Love and Glitter tagged me on Instagram to share my top 3 skincare essentials. These are CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser, 100% Pure Organic Coffee Bean Caffeine Eye Cream and Argan Oil}

20120830-112332.jpg{I read an interview with Essie Weingarten, creator of Essie polish, on Into the Gloss, and she mentioned that applying one coat of Essie Marshmallow with one coat of Ballet Slippers gives a beautiful color. I tried this but it was a bit streaky so I added a final coat of Marshmallow to get the opaque look. Love it. This is actually what the Vogue girls are said to wear from The Devil Wears Prada. I posted recently that Ballet Slippers with Mademoiselle is the Vogue color but that is actually Essie’s favorite combination. I’ve corrected this information on the previous post…clearly this is very serious so I need to get it right. LOL }

20120830-112341.jpg{I’ve been putting a few drops of Aveda’s Lavender Fleurs essential oil on our pillows at night. It really helps with sleeping and relaxation. It feels like a treat to have lavender scented pillows.}

20120830-130608.jpg{I read recently that applying a thin coat of top coat each day after a manicure will help keep chips at bay and prolong the life of your manicure. I just bought Essie 3-Way Glaze and tried this trick with this week’s polish application and it really works! My nails always chip within 1 day of painting my own nails, even with the best base and top coats, so I was really surprised that this finally worked for me! I just keep the top coat in my purse…it takes about 15 seconds to do each day and it dries quickly!}

What made your week great?

6 thoughts on “Happy Things

  1. What made my week great?

    A.) Chanel Vamp. I couldn’t wait any longer. I normally don’t pull out the dark shades until way after Labor Day, but, my dark nails made me a happy gal.

    B.) Getting a new e-mail marketing system launched at work. It’s the little things…

    C.) The Lilly Pulitzer Endless Summer Sale.

    🙂

    • Oooh…yes I’ve been wanting to paint my nails something dark and vampy in honor of fall being right around the corner! I have my eye on Chanel Vertigo…such a pretty color. I’ll have to check out that sale at Lilly! 🙂

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

