Kérastase Elixir Ultime Review (& tips on the best hair serums for any budget)

20121001-085437.jpg

I’m a die-hard MoroccanOil fan (read my rave review on it here) but my bottle was nearly empty so I picked up a bottle of Kérastase Elixir Ultime at Waves during my last highlight appointment. I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews about Kérastase (Blake Lively swears by their products and her hair is out of this world), so I was eager to try it and see how it compares to MorrocanOil.

The Ultime serum is for all hair types and is said to be “a versatile nourishing oil that provides the ultimate shine, smooths, and
strengthens.”

The product claims the following benefits:

  • Delivers a powerful cocktail of emollient and anti-oxidant active ingredients for ultimate shine and suppleness while promoting cellular renewal.
  • Brings shine, nourishment and deep conditioning to the hair while smoothing the hair fiber.
  • Helps restore strength to the hair and protects it from external aggressors.

The serum does not disappoint. First off, it smells delightful, like flowers. It leaves my hair shiny and soft without weighing it down at all. All that said, I do still love MoroccanOil the most and will be repurchasing that from now on once I use up this product. My hair is so dry and I feel like MoroccanOil really absorbs into my hair a bit more and hydrates more effectively. The Kérastase serum truly is wonderful and if I had not discovered MoroccanOil first this would be my favorite hair product.

Kérastase Elixir Ultime is $54 and MoroccanOil is $40.

For anyone who finds MoroccanOil too heavy and has $54 to spend on hair serum, I would highly suggest this heavenly-scented serum. It will leave your hair shiny and smelling amazing. If you’re on a budget and both of these serums are out of your price range, John Frieda Frizz-Ease is the best option. At just $9.99 it will smooth your hair and add shine without breaking the bank. It keeps winning Allure Best of Beauty awards and I used this religiously until I discovered MoroccanOil.

What’s your favorite hair serum?

8 thoughts on “Kérastase Elixir Ultime Review (& tips on the best hair serums for any budget)

    • Hi Jenn! Thanks for your comment! Yes, MoroccanOil is by the far the best thing ever for all hair types…Love LOVE LOVE it. My bday was great, thanks so much! XO

  1. Oooh, this sounds yummy! I’m obsessed with my Marrakesh Oil, which is a blend of hemp & argan oil. It does wonders for my hair! I definitely cannot live without it!

    • I think you would really like it. It’s for all hair types and as long as you put it in while hair is damp it won’t make it oily or weigh it down. 🙂

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

