4 Haircare Essentials & 6 Easy Steps For Enhancing Natural Waves

20121009-142849.jpg

My hair used to be full of loose ringlets. Over the last three years it has slowly straightened out, leaving only a slight wave. I have to put some work into coaxing out the waves so I’ll often just air dry and then wrap my hair around a clampless curling iron for easy, fast curls. In order to grow my hair longer and keep it healthy I’ve been trying to wear it natural most days and avoid the curling iron. To enhance my natural waves and make my hair silky, manageable and frizz-free I swear by four products. I’ve tried nearly everything out there and these four items have made the final cut.

It’s taken me a while to figure out the right steps to get my hair as wavy as possible so I wanted to pass along this routine in case it can help anyone else. Here are my products and steps for getting shiny, healthy waves. Keep in mind that, depending on length, you may need to use less or more of each of these products to get optimal results. My hair is below my shoulders so I require a considerable amount of product. You will also need a diffuser. It makes all the difference.

20121009-143415.jpg

{My product essentials for wearing my hair natural: It’s a 10 Miracle Leave-In Product, MoroccanOil, Herbal Essences Totally Twisted Curl Define & Hold Creme & Fekkai Summer Hair}

Step 1:

Spray 7-10 pumps of It’s a 10 Miracle Leave-In Product in freshly towel-dried hair from middle of head down, concentrating on ends, and comb through.

<<<By towel-dried I mean wrap your head in a towel for a few minutes and then let it down.  Do NOT rub your hair with the towel.  This will cause frizziness and can damage the hair follicle. Hair should still be wet after the towel is taken out, just not sopping wet.>>>>>>

(It’s A 10 detangles, conditions, adds shine and protects from heat. Read my full review on this product here.)

Step 2:

Apply 1-2 pumps of MoroccanOil in hair from middle down, concentrating on ends, and comb through.

(MoroccanOil is my miracle hair product. It nourishes, fights frizz, adds a ton of shine, etc. Read my full review here.)

Step 3:

Scrunch hair and blow dry on low heat with a diffuser for a few minutes by holding diffuser right below your ends. Continue to scrunch as you dry.

Step 4:

While hair is still slightly damp, add 1 pump of Herbal Essences Curl Define & Hold Creme in your hand, rub palms together and distribute evenly by scrunching hair with the cream. Any motion other than scrunching will disturb the waves and ruin the shape. Do not comb fingers through, only scrunch! Once cream is applied, continue to dry hair with diffuser again for a few minutes.

(Herbal Essences curl cream is by far the best I’ve used. I’ve tried them all and I love the thick, creamy consistency of this product.)

Step 5:

When hair is almost dry, spritz generously with Fekkai Summer Hair and scrunch again. Continue to use diffuser until hair is dry.

(There are a ton of beach wave sprays on the market so if you have one you like, use it. Fekkai’s spray works well for me and smells minty fresh.)

Step 6:

Add one more pump of MoroccanOil in hands, rub palms together and scrunch serum through dried waves for added shine and smoothness.

End Result:

20121009-143428.jpg

20121009-143436.jpg

Play around with these steps until you get the result you’re looking for, and if you have a serum, cream, etc. that you already really like, use it instead of my suggested product. Just avoid gels and anything else that would make hair crispy. The waves should be soft to the touch and flexible, not crunchy.

What are your favorite hair products for enhancing waves?

7 thoughts on “4 Haircare Essentials & 6 Easy Steps For Enhancing Natural Waves

    • Thank you! My hair used to be a lot longer so I’m trying to grow it back out (I need another 3 inches or so!). Yes, these steps aren’t for people with actual curly hair. Curly hair needs a different routine. My mom has super curly ringlets (so pretty) and needs a different set of products. XO

  1. I purchased Herbal Essences Totally Twisted Curl Define & Hold Creme and it was on sale @ Walgreen’s 2 for $6! I’m excited!

  2. Pingback: New Haircare Faves! | Gourmet Beauty

  3. Pingback: DIY Coconut & Jojoba Hot Oil Hair Treatment (And giveaway winner announced!) | Gourmet Beauty

  4. I’m thinking you’ve lost your curl because you use so much stuff on it..try curl/wave enhancing shampoo and conditioner then end with a mousse then finally dry with a diffuser.

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

