Beauty of the Month: Alina Vission, Music Video Producer, TV Host & Model

I am so thrilled for my October Beauty of the Month!  The lovely Alina Vission was Miss New Mexico USA 2003 and is now in LA working in the entertainment industry as a model, TV host and music video producer.  We both went to the University of New Mexico and I had the privilege of having this wonderful lady as my big sis in our sorority (Pi Phi!).  I was cheering her on in the crowd at the Miss USA 2003 Pageant in San Antonio (where she made top 10!) and I’ve been cheering her on ever since as she continues to succeed at everything she does.  There’s no one more fitting to feature on my blog than miss Alina.  With her genuine kindness, ridiculous beauty and passion for health and fitness she’s the perfect October Beauty.  Alina was kind enough to share her beauty must-haves, fitness routine, meal plan and her delicious spaghetti squash recipe!  Enjoy the interview and be sure like her page on Facebook and follow her Twitter!

**Tell the lovely Goumet Beauty readers about your fabulous self!**

I work in the entertainment industry as a music video producer, TV host, and model. I’ve produced music videos for some of the biggest names in the electronic dance music industry and my videos have been seen on MTV and various music channels both in the US and around the world. I also love being in front of the camera, and I currently host a bi-weekly web-series on electronic dance music for an LA radio show on POWER106FM called POWERTOOLS TV.  Check it out! I also host various red carpet events.  I’m a health food and fitness junkie who loves going to the gym and eating a clean vegan/vegetarian diet. I am happily married to my wonderful husband, Richard Vission, who is a music producer/remixer for artists like Havana Brown, Madonna, and Lady Gaga, as well as a DJ. Together, we have two amazing dogs, Boogie (German Sheppard) and Bella (Chihuahua), who we love to pieces!

**What are your 5 beauty products you can’t live without?**

1.  MoroccanOil hair care productsI CAN NOT…no…WILL NOT live without them!  Every product in this line is an absolute hair must have and I swear it must come straight from the hair product Gods. Ever since I started using this line, my hair is healthier, stronger, shinier, and silkier. As a result, my hair has grown longer. It is on the expensive side, but totally worth every penny!

2.  Clarisonic Mia:   I love how clean it gets my skin. It’s like a mini massage for my face every morning and night.

3.  BeautyBlender “Pure”I found this little gem while working with numerous make up artists on various photo shoots. It’s by far the best product to use when applying foundation or concealer. The results are always flawless. I actually have 2, one for make up and one for my facial moisturizer. It doubles its size after a quick soak in water and comes with a cleanser to avoid bacteria build up. Due to my ultra sensitive skin, I get the “Pure” version because it has no added dyes.

4.  Clinique Sparkle Skin Body Exfoliating Cream This product does exactly what it says, leaves your skin sparkling. This is a great exfoliater that sloughs off dead skin and leaves your skin soft, smooth, refreshed, and glowing.

5.  Organix Moroccan Argan Oil Creamy Oil Body Lotion This lotion smells and feels amazing. It’s a great moisturizer, leaves my skin glowing, and smells like a dream!

**What are 3 things  you always carry in your purse?**

I always carry my cell phone, Burt’s Bees Lip Balm, and my Gucci sunglasses.

**Who is your beauty icon?**

My beauty icon, without a doubt, is my mother. She was the first Miss Botswana and has always taught me that beauty is as beauty does. Whether it’s volunteering or a simple kind act to a stranger, my mother has always taught me that it is more important to help and be kind to others, than be caught up in a narcissistic image of one’s self. Ever since I can remember, she’s had an eye for fashion a love of beauty products, and she’s taught me the rule of “Once a queen, always a Queen”!  She is the most beautiful woman in the world to me, even to this day.

**The natural look:  underrated or overrated?**

I love the natural look! In fact I prefer it. It’s no fuss and I think it’s great when people showcase their natural beauty.

**Favorite perfume?**

I don’t wear perfume because they all give me a headache. 😦

**Favorite men’s cologne?**

My favorite men’s cologne is Hermes Terre d’Hermes. It’s a clean, light, sexy scent.  Very sophisticated. I highly recommend.

**Favorite lip color?**

I have two! The first is MAC Kissable Lip Colour in Enchantée. It’s a great soft pink that if applied lightly can look like a nude, or if applied heavily is a great pink.  Thanks to former Miss New Mexico USA 2009 (Bianca Matamoros Koonce) who gave me the secret to her fabulous red lips, MAC Matte Lipstick in Ruby Woo is my other favorite lip color.

{Alina wearing MAC Ruby Woo lipstick}

**Favorite skincare product?**

Cetaphil cleanser is my favorite skincare product. I have ridiculously sensitive skin and I love how gentle Cetaphil is, not only on my skin, but also on my wallet! This product is rather inexpensive and leaves my skin clear and glowing.

**What’s your favorite inexpensive beauty item?**

I love my Organic Virgin Coconut Oil. I dab some under my eyes before bed and it works better than any under eye cream on the market! I also use it on my hair if I run out of MoroccanOil.

*What’s your favorite expensive beauty item?**

My Sedu curling wand is one of the best beauty investments I’ve made. On almost every photo shoot I have worked on the hairstylist has it on hand. It gives great long lasting curls even at low heat settings, yielding less fried hair and split ends. It produces curls that are full of volume and leaves my hair looking shiny.

**Quick beauty tip?**

First and foremost, be kind to yourself and others.  Second, drink lots of water! Beauty starts from the inside and radiates out. Water gets rid of toxins, keeps your body running efficiently, and hydrates your skin. You can spend loads of money on expensive creams and makeup, but if you don’t drink enough water and have a poor diet, it’s going to show.

**Now let’s talk about that amazing body! As a model and former beauty pageant girl, staying in shape is clearly top priority to you. What does an average week of exercise look like for you?**

Fitness has been a lifestyle for me for as long as I can remember.  I love working out and being active, so I go hard at the gym 6 days a week, and take an active rest or full rest on the 7th day. I go to the gym first thing in the morning to make sure I get it done since my day can be unpredictable. My workouts vary from day-to-day to avoid plateaus and boredom, so I mix it up between indoor cycling, running, cardio barre, boxing, Pilates, TRX, HIIT, cardio circuits and weight lifting. I split my weight lifting days between upper body and lower body and always making sure to lift heavy. Contrary to popular belief amongst a lot of women, lifting heavy will NOT make you bulky but merely give you great muscle tone and tighten you up resulting in a slimmer you! I make sure I do weight lifting or resistance work and some form of cardio 6 days a week. Active rest days are my favorite! On these days I either go for a hike with my husband in the Hollywood Hills, or head over to my gym for anti-gravity yoga or a pole dancing class. My anti-gravity yoga class helps to realign my joints and stretch my sore muscles, while the pole dancing class keeps working out sexy and sassy!

**Favorite healthy snack?**

I’m an avid juicer so my favorite healthy snack is a freshly made organic fruit and veggie juice. My favorite is made out of kale, spinach, ginger, lemon, mint, watercress and apples. I juice about twice a day and it’s health and beauty benefits have been noticeable to me in the forms of glowing healthy skin and more natural energy.

**What does an average day of meals look like for you?**

I’m pretty much Vegan, with the exception of my once a week sushi date with my husband. Other than that, there’s no meat, dairy, or gluten in my diet. I eat 6 small meals a day and incorporate a vegan protein shakes because of the weight lifting I do.  Here are my 6 meals a day:

Meal 1:

Vega Sport Protein Shake with Almond Milk, Chia Seeds, ¼ banana. Slice of Gluten Free bread with PB2 (Low cal/low fat Peanut Butter) and cinnamon.

Meal 2:

Vega Sport Protein Shake with water and quinoa breakfast cereal with almond milk, tsp organic agave nectar, ¼ sliced banana

Meal 3:

Vegan “tuna” sandwich (made with garbanzo beans instead of tuna) or grilled veggie patty with a side of asparagus, small salad and a fresh veggie/fruit juice

Meal 4:

Fresh mixed fruit bowl (mango/strawberries/grapes/grapefruit) Or sliced organic cucumber with guacamole

Meal 5:

Organic kale salad with lentils, tomatoes, avocados and sprouts in a low cal home made teriyaki/apple cider vinegar dressing (YUM!) with a side of steamed broccoli and a fresh veggie/fruit juice

Meal 6:

Vega Protein Shake with water.

**Go-to healthy recipe?**

A quick and easy go-to recipe that I make at least once a week is spaghetti squash. I love pasta but the amount of carbs and gluten just don’t cut it for me, so this is a great tasting, low calorie/fat/carb alternative that even my husband, who is far from being a vegan, loves. You can eat it with any pasta sauce you want, and it tastes just like pasta but it’s not fattening! I love it! This is the recipe that I use, but you can modify it to your liking.

 Alina’s Spaghetti Squash Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • ½ red onion
  • ½ red bell pepper
  • ½ green bell pepper
  • 1 cup of baby bella mushrooms
  • 1 cup of baby spinach
  • 1 clove garlic (minced)
  • 1 cup Organicville Marinara Sauce
  • ½ tsp Virgin Coconut oil (optional)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut open spaghetti squash lengthwise and carve out all the squash webs and seeds. Place the two halves face down on a baking sheet lined with tin foil and place in the oven. Bake for 40 minutes or until soft.
  • While squash is baking, I chop up and sauté the rest of the veggies until cooked through, then add the Organicville Marinara Sauce.
  • When squash is done, take a fork and scrape at the squash width wise. It should scrape off easily and look just like strands of spaghetti.  Serve sauce on top of your portion of squash and enjoy!

 **Cocktail of choice?**

I’m a bubbly girl so I love bubbly cocktails. Mimosas are my favorite. Sundays are typically the only day I have a cocktail and it’s a perfect Sunday brunch drink!

**Quick skinny tip?**

You are what you eat!  Whatever you put into your body, good or bad, will show, so make it worth it and put the good stuff in! Fresh fruits, veggies, and lots of water will result in good physical and mental health as well as beautiful skin, hair, nails, teeth and body.  Just say NO to processed foods, fast food, refined sugars, soda, and toxins in general.  Get up and MOVE your body! It’s fun! Trust me.  🙂

**Favorite thing about living in LA?**

Wow. It’s really hard to pick one thing! I love how diverse LA is and how it attracts some of the most creative people in the world. As a result of that, it makes life in LA very colorful and there’s never a dull moment. The city is the center of the entertainment industry for the world, and I’m reminded of it daily whether I see a celebrity at the supermarket, paparazzi camped outside of one of my favorite dinner spots, or a street in my neighborhood being blocked off due to a movie being shot on location there. This city keeps life fun! I also love the weather! You can’t beat getting to wear flip-flops and tank tops year round.

**What do you miss most about living in New Mexico?**

Besides missing my family, I really miss the food! I was raised on Hatch red and green chili and there is nothing out here that compares to it. I have my parents send me fresh roasted green chili in the fall and freeze it so I can have a little delicious slice of New Mexico year round. I also miss being able to see for miles and miles. I definitely have an appreciation for the clean air and vast beautiful landscapes that I didn’t have before leaving New Mexico. Between the land and the people, New Mexico truly is the land of enchantment.

{Alina with her husband Richard and their dogs, Bella & Boogie}

15 thoughts on “Beauty of the Month: Alina Vission, Music Video Producer, TV Host & Model

  1. Thanks for the wonderful tips! Alina is a beauty and we have a few things in common- headaches from perfume and spinach and kale smoothies 🙂

    • LOL! Yes, she is a stunner and I get headaches from perfume too but I’ve found a few that work for me. 🙂 I’m still hesistant about green stuff in my smoothies. But everyone is doing it!

  2. Great post Ran! I loved reading her tips and tricks and she is still absolutely gorgeous! I miss that girl! Loved to hear what she’s up to. Wouldn’t expect anything but great things from her! Great interview! Xoxo

  3. Fabulous post.

    You know, one thing I really remember about Alina was how she always talked so fondly of her mother. She was always so proud that she was the first Miss Botswana, and I do believe it was her mother who made her dress for Miss USA – though I could be wrong about that.

    Anyway, so many people don’t respect their parents, but it’s always been clear that Alina has had her priorities in order.

    A gorgeous lady inside and out.

    • Yes, you’re right! Family has always been number one to her and her mom is the leading lady in her life for sure. I think you’re right about the dress but I’m not sure. Maybe Alina can chime in here. 🙂 Thanks for reading Mandi! XO

  4. Loved the post! I love seeing & reading about women who come from NM and have made it so far! She is gorgeous & inspiring and it was refreshing to hear that her idol/inspiration was her mother :0)

    P.S. I def wanna try the Organic coconut oil! Do you know where I can purchase? Traders?

    • Hey Ashley! I know, it’s so great to see ladies from NM doing so well! If you haven’t seen it already My July Beauty, Brittany Toll, is also from NM. Great interview. I buy my coconut oil from Trader Joe’s. Whole Foods also has it. When you buy it make sure you get unrefined. The refined one has no scent and isn’t as nourishing. Unrefined smells like coconuts and is the one to get!! Thanks for checking out my blog! XO

  5. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash with Parmesan & Herbs | Gourmet Beauty

  6. Pingback: Beauty Stocking Stuffers Under $30! | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

