Skinny Pumpkin Cupcakes with Light Pumpkin Cream Cheese Frosting

Do I have a treat for you!  These soft, moist, melt-in-your-mouth cupcakes have just 121 calories each and take minutes to make.  It’s the simplest recipe EVER (just like these pineapple cupcakes that are by far my most popular recipe).  It’s shocking to me that all you need is boxed cake mix and a can of pumpkin but it works!  I baked these with my friend Paula while sipping wine and watching Halloween.

I brought them to Bunco last week and everyone loved them.  These little treats will be perfect as a Thanksgiving dessert that you can enjoy without a ton of calories.  The pumpkin cream cheese frosting tastes so rich and delicious…you’d never know these were so skinny!

Enjoy!

Skinny Pumpkin Cupcakes with Light Pumpkin Cream Cheese Frosting  (Makes 20-24 cupcakes)

From Gina’s Skinny Recipes

Ingredients

For the cake:

  • 18.25 oz Betty Crocker Golden Vanilla Super Moist Cake Mix* (*Betty Crocker has reduced their cake mixes, so read the labels on your box. Dunkin Hines still carries 18.25 oz boxes.)
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 cup canned 100% pure pumpkin
  • 1 cup water

For the frosting:

  • 8 oz Philadelphia 1/3 fat cream cheese (do not use fat-free)
  • 1/2 cup pureed pumpkin (canned is fine)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 5 tbsp packed brown sugar

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350°
  • Line a cupcake tin with cupcake wrappers.
  • Combine cake mix and pumpkin spice in a large bowl.
  • Add pumpkin puree and water, mix about 2 minutes.
  • Fill cupcake liners 2/3 full and bake about 20 – 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean
  • For the frosting, combine the cream cheese, pumpkin, vanilla, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and brown sugar until smooth.
  • You can use a spatula to ice the cupcakes or pipe them which may require making more frosting.
13 thoughts on “Skinny Pumpkin Cupcakes with Light Pumpkin Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. I’ve made these before!!! I didn’t know it was a Skinnytaste recipe. I saw it on Pinterest. Unfortunately, the recipe I used didn’t say anything about the icing, so I didn’t make it. Definite thumbs up!! Seriously the easiest recipe ever!

  2. Pingback: Thanksgiving Healthy Recipe Round Up: 9 Simple, Skinny & Delicious Dishes | Gourmet Beauty

  3. I made these tonight and I have a question, are the cupcakes supposed to come out in a cupcake consistency or more of a pumpkin roll consistency? I made them exactly to the recipe and after baking 25 minutes they were still very wet in the center so I popped them back in for another 5 and they were still wet in the center (I would of cooked them longer, but they were starting to smell a little burnt). They Taste very good, just not the consistency I was expecting. Just trying to figure out If I did something wrong. Thank you!

    • Hi Amanda, so sorry for the delay in replying When I’ve made them they come out very much with a cupcake consistency so I’m not sure if maybe you needed a different temperature?

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

