“No Makeup” Sunday: 5 Essentials For Looking Pulled Together

Clearly, I love makeup.  However, I like to give my skin a break sometimes and go bare-faced.  I feel like it gives skin a chance to breathe and recover from all the makeup I typically wear.  I reserve these no-makeup days for Sundays.  If I am just laying around the house, I’ll do masks and then pile on a generous amount of coconut oil and let my skin soak up the goodness all day.  Most Sundays however, I see movies with my dad and/or run errands.  On these days, I’ve figured out a routine to look presentable while still skipping (most) makeup.  Here are my 5 products I swear by for days I don’t want to wear makeup but need to go out in public without frightening people.  🙂

1.  Vaseline:  I put a small amount on my finger and coat my lashes with it.  It leaves them darker, defined and glossy.

2.  Face lotion with SPF:  I’m currently using Eucerin Everyday Protection.  Use any SPF lotion you want.  It hydrates the skin which helps with the overall appearance and suppleness.  When your face is dry you can look tired, ashy, sickly…basically not good.  🙂

3.  Illuminator:  This is where actual makeup comes in.  But it makes ALL the difference and you only need a tiny bit.  I typically use MAC Mineralize Skinfinish powder in Soft  & Gentle (pictured).  I brush a small amount on my cheeks and nose and it immediately brightens the face and blurs imperfections.  Another option I also like to do instead is blend a luminizing cream in with your face lotion.  My favorites for this are NARS Copacabana and MAC Strobe Cream.

4.  Toner:  After applying the lotion and luminizer, spritz with a toner or facial water.  My favorites are Lush Breath of Fresh Air Toner and Evian Facial Spray.  It adds a dewy glow to your skin and keeps you looking fresh.

5.  Tinted Balm:  Adding a bit of color to your lips is really important.  It completes the look and keeps you from appearing washed out.  It needs to be a natural shade, nothing too pigmented or shiny, otherwise it will look silly with an otherwise nearly bare face (in my opinion).  I really like Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Strawberry Shortcake.  It’s a lovely light pink that can be sheer when applied lightly or provide coverage like a lipstick with a heavier application.

{Here I am this past Sunday about to head out for lunch and a walk with my dad, wearing face lotion, MAC Soft & Gentle powder, Lush toner, Revlon Strawberry Shortcake Lip butter and a smidge of Vaseline on my lashes:}

Do you like to have “no makeup” days?  What products do you swear by for these days?

11 thoughts on ““No Makeup” Sunday: 5 Essentials For Looking Pulled Together

    • Thanks Taylor! You’re sweet. Yes, those Lip Butters are fantastic. I really like the Sweet Tart shade for the summer. It’s a bright reddish pink watermelon. The Strawberry Shortcake is a year-round fave for me. XO

  1. Pingback: My 5 Most Popular Posts on Pinterest in 2012 | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

