How-To: 10 Minute Bouncy Waves with the Remington Eliptical Curling Wand

{Remington Eliptical Curling Wand:  $24.99}

Happy Monday lovelies!  I’ve been asked by a few friends and readers to do a tutorial on how I get my wavy curls.  I recently bought the Remington T-Studio Pearl Eliptical Curling Wand from Target and it gives me bouncy waves in 10 minutes or less!  Jon was kind enough to document the process so he gets credit for the photos.  🙂  I hope the tutorial helps you and if you have any questions just ask!  A couple things to note that aren’t pictured below:  I did this on hair that was washed the day before, and I also put a small pump of hair serum just below the middle of my hair down to the ends.  My hair is really dry so it soaks up the serum and it protects the ends while adding shine.  If your hair is oily, curl it on freshly washed and dried hair and just put serum in the ends to protect from heat.  Also, this wand goes up to 410 degrees.  The optimal wave making heat is 350, which is where I set it.  If your hair is extremely damaged or fine, you may want to try it on a lower heat, but I would not suggest much higher than 350 for anyone.  This whole process takes me about 10 minutes.

Step 1:  Put on your super stylish heat glove and section off hair based on the type of waves/curls you want

The heat glove comes with the wand and protects your fingers since it’s a clampless iron.  Jon calls it my Michael Jackson glove, LOL.  The size of hair you curl will determine how loose or tight the curl will be.  I prefer mine to be big and bouncy so my sections are at least 1-2 inches wide.

Step 2:  Curl hair away from the face instead of toward it

Starting about 4-6 inches down from the scalp, wrap your hair around the wand by going in the direction away from your face and hold for 10-15 seconds.  Curling in this direction gives a great wave and bounce to the hair.  I will sometimes curl it toward the face and it turns out just as pretty, but a little more “perfect”.  I prefer a wilder look.  Below is a picture of how the curl should look after releasing it from the iron.  You can see that I curled away from the face by the way the top of the curl looks.  I also like to leave about 1/4 inch of my ends out from being curled.  This creates a more natural looking wave and also gives your ends a little more protection.

Step 3:  Continue curling the rest of your head

Keep going around your head, curling away from face.  Leave hair in ringlets until entire head is curled.  You will have Shirley Temple banana curls that are scary, but I promise we aren’t leaving them that way!

Step 4:  Hair spray!

Once ringlets cool, spray generously with hairspray.  The best hairspray EVER is L’Oreal Elnett Satin.  Seriously.  Best hairspray EVER.  It gives amazing hold and the hairspray crunch brushes right out while still holding your style all day.

Step 5:  Finger comb ringlets

Once ringlets have cooled and hairspray has been applied, finger comb through the hair until you have the desired wave.  I go through it with my fingers vigorously several times and flip my hair upside down to get my desired effect.  I don’t like hair that’s too perfect looking. Don’t be afraid to tug at the curls and even brush them.  Play around with them until you get the look you want.

End Result:

I hope you found this helpful!  Let me know if you have any questions!

22 thoughts on “How-To: 10 Minute Bouncy Waves with the Remington Eliptical Curling Wand

    • I know, he did good! He got snapped at a few times, poor guy. 🙂 You can get similar results with a regular clampless iron thats about 1″. The eliptical shape in this iron just makes more of a wave look instead of a curl I think.

    • Thank you!!! Jon did a pretty good job. 🙂 Thanks for the compliment on my hair!! I am a natural blonde but it’s gotten much darker over the years so I have highlights! Loving the idea of a bodysuit! LOL

  1. Pingback: Happy Things | Gourmet Beauty

  2. Great tutorial. I looked at this in the store today but was hesitant to buy it, now I’m definitely going back for it. I notice that your hair has similar texture to mine, can you please tell me what serum you use? I’ve tried many different serums but they seem to weigh my hair down and give it an oily look no matter how scant the amount that I use. Thank you!

    • Hi Alison! Thanks for checking out my blog! I use MoroccanOil serum and only a dime sized amount from the middle of my hair down, never higher than thst. Also, only put the serum in damp, towel dried hair. If you put it in dry hair it will look oily. I hope that helps! 😉 XO

  3. Thanks Arantha! I just read that you are in Albuquerque…I moved away from there to Austin in August. I’m TERRIBLY homesick for Abq…..I miss it so much. I’ve been dying for the SW Bennie at Flying Star 😦

  4. Pingback: Simple, Ultra Black Smokey Eye & Luminous Skin (Perfect Look for Valentine’s Day!) | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

