My Current Favorite Shampoos & Conditioners

I’ve been asked a lot lately about my favorite shampoo and conditioner.  It changes frequently so I wanted to share what I’m currently using and loving on my hair!  Nearly all of these products are from the drugstore as well so these are very affordable.

Organix Hydrating Teatree Mint Shampoo & Conditioner ($6.99 each):

I’ve been a fan of the Organix line for a while and just started using the Teatree Mint.  It smells so fresh and minty, it’s a wonderful product to use in the morning or after a sweaty workout!  Typically shampoos with teatree or mint scents are for fine or oily hair but this one is great for all hair types and is really nourishing and moisturizing.  The shampoo is sulfate-free but it foams really well and leaves my hair feeling super clean.  The conditioner makes my hair really soft and detangled and the scent stays in the hair for a while.

Organix is available at the drugstore and they make a range of scents which you can check out here, including Nourishing Coconut Milk (which I love!), Repairing Awapuhi Ginger, Fortifying Lavender Soymilk, and many more.  I’ve tried a few of them and feel like they all cleanse and hydrate really well so I would make your selection based on your favorite scent!

Teatree Mint Shampoo Ingredients:

Aqua/Water/EauWater , Disodium Laureth Sulfosuccinate , Cocamidopropyl Betaine ,
Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine , Parfum , Glycol Distearate , Dimethicone
Copolyol (Silica) , Cetyl Alcohol , Cocamide DEA , Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium
Chloride , Polyquaternium 11 , DMDM Hydantoin , Silk Amino Acids , Panthenol ,
Malaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf OilTea Tree , Hydrolyzed Milk Protein ,
Glycine Soja OilSoybean , Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf OilPeppermint ,
Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) , Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E) ,
Citronellol

Teatree Mint Conditioner Ingredients:

Aqua/Water/EauWater , Parfum , Behentrimonium Methosulfate , Cyclopentasiloxane
, Dimethicone , Cetearyl Glucoside , Glyceryl Stearate , Glycerin , Cetearyl
Alcohol , Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed OilJojoba , Cetyl Alcohol , DMDM
Hydantoin , Panthenol , Silk Amino Acids , Melaleuca Altemifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf
OilTea Tree , Hydrolyzed Milk Protein , Glycine Soja OilSoybean , Mentha
Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf OilPeppermint , Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) ,
Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E) , Tetrasodium EDTA , Methylchloroisothiazolinone
, Methylisothiazolinone , Limonene , Citronellol

John Frieda Sheer Blonde Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo ($6.49)

This purple shampoo neutralizes brassiness and keeps your blonde hair bright, light and shiny.  It’s really strong and can make your hair start to look grey if you use it too often.  I use it once a week and I’d suggest no more than twice a week.  It’s very drying because it’s full of detergents and sulfates that deep clean the hair.  After just one use I can tell that my highlights are brighter and lighter and they shimmer in the sunlight.  This shampoo also smells great.

John Frieda Sheer Blonde Color Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo ingredients:

Water , Sodium Laureth Sulfate , Sodium Lauryl Sulfate , Glycol Distearate,
Betaine (Sugar Beet), Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower ExtractLavender, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Benzophenone 4, Disodium Distyrylbiphenyl
Disulfonate , Benzyl Alcohol , Cocamidopropyl Betaine , Guar
Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride , Cocamide MEA , PEG 40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil
, Glycine , Sodium Hydroxide , Lactic Acid , Disodium EDTA , Sodium Chloride ,
Maleic Acid , Trideceth 12 , Sodium Xylene Sulfonate , Pentylene Glycol ,
Propylene Glycol , Methylchloroisothiazolinone , Methylisothiazolinone ,
Bisabolol (L-Alpha) , Fragrance , Ext D&C Violet 2 (CI 60730)

Lush American Cream Hair Conditioner ($19.95)

This conditioner is the only product that’s not from the drugstore.  It’s a strawberry vanilla milkshake-scented conditioner that’s just to die for.  Jon commented that my hair smelled like strawberries after I used it for the first time too.  I’m always smelling my hair after using this stuff!  Lush’s description of this conditioner is:

“American Cream is our dreamy, medium-strength conditioner for soft, shiny and bouncy locks. Softening honey, scalp clarifying lavender and fresh oranges make a conditioner suitable for all hair types to soften rough ends and keep hair calm. Not to mention the absolutely delectable strawberry vanilla cream scent. We were inspired by a vision of 1950s US milk bars, where teenagers would meet and drink frothy, creamy milkshakes. We concocted our best-selling conditioner to soften and control, all while evoking memories. No wonder it remains such a customer favorite year after year!”

While I absolutely LOVE this conditioner and the scent that lasts until your next shampoo, it’s not as hydrating as my dry hair needs so I use this only once or twice a week and use my Organix Teatree Mint conditioner in between.  I love that it’s packed with REAL strawberries, oranges and vanilla pod, but I will say I don’t like that they put sulfates in it.  I don’t ever understand why conditioners need sulfates since sulfates are cleansing agents, but whatever.  This stuff is a treat and I love it.  If you haven’t smelled this product yet, definitely smell it before buying or ordering online.  I absolutely adore the scent but I have read some reviews from people who think it smells like plastic, so make sure it’s your cup of tea before you fork over $20 for conditioner.

Lush American Cream Conditioner ingredients:

Honey Water (Mel Aqua) , Vanilla Pod Infusion (Vanilla planifolia) , Propylene Glycol , Fresh Oranges (Citrus dulcis) , Cetearyl Alcohol and Sodium Lauryl Sulfate , Fresh Strawberries (Fragaria vesca) , Perfume , Lanolin , Cetrimonium Bromide , Cetearyl Alcohol , Vanilla Absolute (Vanilla planifolia) , Clary Sage Oil (Salvia sclarea) , Lavender Oil (Lavandula hybrida) , Benzoin Resinoid (Styrax benzoin) , *Linalool , Coumarin

Organix Renewing Moroccan Argan Oil Intense Moisturizing Treatment ($7.99)

With my super dry hair, the fact that I live in the desert and because I’m trying to get my hair a few inches longer, a deep conditioner at least once a week is crucial.  I use a variety but I’ve recently fallen in love with this Organix deep conditioner and it’s become a staple in my shower.  For deep conditioning I’m now just rotating between unrefined coconut oil, which I’ve mentioned before here, and this product.

It smells amazing and my hair is so soft and shiny after using.  Lauren Conrad also swears by this stuff, which is why I tried it in the first place.

Water, Behentrimonium chloride, Cetyl alcohol, cetearyl alcohol, dimethicone, Glycerine Stearate, Ceteareth-20, Cyclomethicone, Polyquaternium-11, Dimethiconol, Fragrance, Lanolin oil, Simmondsia chinensis (Jojoba) seed oil, xtract Panthenol Argania Spinoza (Argan) Oil, Panthenol, DMDM Hydantoin, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Red 40, Yellow 5

I’d love to know what your favorite shampoos and conditioners are!

14 thoughts on “My Current Favorite Shampoos & Conditioners

  1. You have me super interested in these Organic products, I have to remind myself that it’s the holidays and I need to be buying for others… I just started using Bumble & Bumble Creme De Coco shampoo and conditioner. It’s amazing for long, thick, coarse hair, my current fave. I also love their hair tonic! I use it inbeteen washes to keep my hair silky smooth!

    • I’ve heard nothing but AMAZING things about that Creme de Coco stuff…it sure is pricey but good haircare is worth it. I find that the Organix line is really wonderful for the price, and it’s filled with a lot natural ingredients. They have so many different scent options, it’s fun to try them.

  2. I’ve used the organix products too but stopped because I could never see anywhere on any of the bottles if they were safe for color treated hair…thoughts on that?

    • Hey! Basically all sulfate-free products are safe for color treated hair. Sulfates can strip or dull the color and so sulfate-free is actually the best type of shampoo to use for colored hair. I find that it keeps my blonde nice and bright, especially when I use the John Frieda purple shampoo once a week for extra enhancing.

  3. Well you hair is gorgeous, I’m going to have to try the Organix. I change my shampoo and conditioners all the time as well but always come back to Paul Mitchel Tea Tree Special shampoo, I just love it! And ridding your hair routine of sulfates worked well for me. xoxo

  4. My favorite conditioning treatment is Aussie “3 Minute Miracle” moisture treatment. I use it at least once a week. No other conditioner makes my hair so soft and healthy! It smells so great and the scent stays in your hair afterwards awhile. Plus, its like $4 at the drugstore, doesn’t get much better than that 🙂 You should try it, if you haven’t.

  5. Pingback: New Lush Goodies! | Gourmet Beauty

  6. Pingback: Happy Things | Gourmet Beauty

  7. Pingback: My 10 Favorite Beauty Products From 2012! | Gourmet Beauty

  8. Pingback: New Haircare Faves! | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

