Beauty of the Month: Cathy Anderson of Poor Little It Girl

I’m thrilled to feature the beautiful Cathy Anderson from Poor Little It Girl as my December Beauty!  Poor Little It Girl (PLIG) is a fantastic fashion blog featuring all things stylish that are under $100!  I’ve found quite a few amazing deals through Cathy’s blog, and I love her colorful and feminine style.  This month, the adorable Cathy shares with us her beauty product essentials, style philosophy and fashion tips!  Enjoy!

Tell us about your fabulous self!

Oh, you know, just your normal 27-year-old girl living in the south with five…yes FIVE jobs! In addition to being a freelance writer, I also am a personal assistant, blogger for Poor Little It Girl, social media director for a local boutique called Morgan Kylee, and I’ve currently just launched a new business venture called Southern Blog Society, which is a networking community for lifestyle bloggers who live in the southeast. My days are full of typing, typing and more typing…but I really do love what I do!

What are your 5 beauty products you can’t live without

1.) Maybelline Baby Lips I love this stuff and, with the cooler weather, I’m addicted to keeping my lips smooth and soft.

Maybelline Baby Lips
2.) All Tied Up hairties:  These ties are pretty popular now, but I still can’t get enough of them. My days are jam-packed doing about a million things, so it’s nice to have an easy and fashionable way to tie my hair back!
All Tied Up Hair Ties
3.) Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream:  We all know how tough it is to find a moisturizer that keeps our skin soft without making it oily. I am addicted to this face cream…it’s the perfect way to protect my face for the day!
Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cream
4.) Essie “Fifth Avenue” Polish: This is my go-to polish all year round. The tomato-red shade packs the perfect punch!
Essie Fifth Avenue
5.) Maybelline Liquid Eyeliner:  I don’t own eyeshadow, but you’ll never see me leave the house without my black eyeliner. Just a thin line on the top lashes, this stuff is foolproof!
Maybelline Liquid Liner

Who is your beauty icon?

 I don’t know if I necessarily have a beauty icon, but I’m always envious of how Taylor Swift can get the perfect red lip and cat eye and make it look so natural.

The natural look: underrated or overrated?

Underrated. I like to keep my makeup simple…and when I want to be daring I’ll throw on a bold lip color. But I think showing your natural beauty is important.

Favorite perfume?

I actually don’t really wear perfume so I don’t have a favorite! (I know, crazy!)

Lipstick or lipgloss?  Favorite shade?

LIPSTICK, for sure! Maybelline “Are you Red-dy” is my favorite shade right now! If you read my blog you’ll notice I have it on in just about every outfit post!

Fave haircare product? 

I use REGIS Enhanced midnight color luxury leave-in spray with keratin on my hair every time I get out of the shower. A few sprays and my hair feels awesome!

Quick beauty tip?

 I use lotion all over my body the second I get out of the shower! Keeps my skin smooth and soft!

What are three beauty items you always carry in your purse?

Maybelline Baby Lips, a little powder, and some hand lotion…nothing too crazy.

What is your cheapest beauty item you love?

 I use all drugstore brands so all my stuff is pretty cheap!

Now, let’s talk about your love of fashion and eye for bargains! How would you describe your style?

My style is feminine and girly. I enjoy bows, flirty skirts and lots of color! Sometimes I’ll mix a bit of bohemian elements or edgy pieces…but I’m always the one that’s over dressed for sure!

What are your top 3 favorite places to shop for clothes?

Madewell, Topshop and Morgan Kylee (here in Atlanta)

Best place to shop for accessories? 

Club Monaco, Forever 21 and Target

What clothing items are worth the splurge?

The motto behind Poor Little It Girl is that everything is under $100, but sometimes you have to break your own rules! I am addicted to Paige Denim (retail around $250) for jeans! I’m so petite and short it’s hard to find jeans that fit me really well and don’t stretch out a ton. Their Verdugo skinny jeans are the BEST!

What clothing items are best to save on?

Accessories! No point in spending a ton of money on a trendy pair of earrings or necklace when you don’t even wear it that much.

Favorite winter fashion trends?

Socks with heels! I love pairing a bold colored sock with a t-strap heel…so fun and unexpected!

What do you love most about writing PLIG?

I absolutely love expressing my views on finding great fashion that’s affordable. I don’t stress “Shop This Sale!” or that  kind of stuff, I’m all about finding great classic pieces at a great price that you’ll wear forever hundreds of ways! Being able to share that with my readers, and people actually loving what you have to say, is so important.

Favorite thing about living in Atlanta?

The fashion scene here in Atlanta isn’t really as strong as I would like it to be, but I will say I’ve met quite a few blogging friends here that are simply amazing!

Cathy Anderson of PLIG

I hope you enjoyed my interview with the lovely Cathy!  Check out Poor Little It Girl for awesome fashion inspiration and amazing deals.  You can find her on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram as well!

Arantha Signature

4 thoughts on “Beauty of the Month: Cathy Anderson of Poor Little It Girl

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

