New Sephora Goodies!

005

I had some holiday gift cards to Sephora to use, so I thought I’d share what I bought!  Details below!

Evian Mineral Water Spray Duo ($14):  I always keep some type of facial mist or toner in my bag, and the Evian spray is one of my faves.  It’s just purified water that sprays in a super fine mist, which boosts hydration and refreshes the appearance of makeup.

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion ($25):  I used to love this moisturizer a few years ago and decided to pick up a bottle again.  While it does hydrate and smooth my super dry skin, I’m put off now that I know it’s full of mineral oil.  I’ve starting using a natural moisturizer instead (I’ll post about my updated skincare routine and products soon!) so I’m not using this Clinique product much.  It really does sooth and hydrate, which is something many other facial moisturizers don’t do for me, so I’ll continue to use this occasionally.

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 ($43):  This is my all time favorite face makeup.  I don’t typically wear full coverage foundation so I opt for tinted moisturizers.  I swore by Laura Mercier’s version but tried the NARS Pure Radiant after hearing from some people that it’s better.  While NARS is a wonderful product (and has a lovely lemon scent), nothing beats Laura Mercier for me.  The coverage is perfect for my skin and the texture is so smooth and creamy.  It leaves a really dewy finish.

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush ($26):  I usually switch between MAC Dame blush (a lovely light pink) and NARS Orgasm blush (a peachy pink gold), but I’ve been itching to try a new one.  YouTube beauty guru Tiffany D has been raving about the Tarte blushes so I picked one up and am totally sold.  I got Dollface (light pink, no shimmer) and it’s such a beautiful blush.  I then got a second full-sized one in my New Beauty TesttTube in the shade Flush (a bright berry pink, no shimmer).  The color of Flush freaked me out at first and I thought I wouldn’t be able to wear it but now I’m totally in love with both of these blushes and switch between them.  The pigment is fantastic and a little goes a loooong way, so these are worth the investment!  Like all of Tarte products these blushes are natural.  A picture of Dollface is below:

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Dollface

Korres Wild Rose Lip Butter ($12):

I had the Jasmine, Quince and Guava and really liked them, so I wanted to pick up the more pigmented Wild Rose shade.  I’m a big fan of these hydrating balms now and always have one handy.  Wild Rose is a pretty shade of sheer red, and is more pigmented when applied heavily.  A picture of Wild Rose is below (with a heavy application to show color):

Korres Lip Butter in Wild Rose

Too Faced Absolutely Invisible Candlelight Powder ($27):

I almost always opt for a luminous and glowy finish to my skin over a matte look. I find it to be more flattering and it tends to blur imperfections.  I use MAC Soft & Gentle Mineralize Skinfinish and it’s a wonderful, shimmery finishing powder for my cheeks and nose.  My girl Tiffany D (you seriously need to subscribe to her YouTube channel) loves the Too Faced Candlelight powder so I thought I’d give it a try.  At first I felt like it wasn’t doing anything, but now I use it almost every day.  While MAC’s Soft & Gentle is a shimmery powder, Candlelight is a much more subtle powder that you can put all over your face without looking shimmery.  The sparkles in Candlelight are ultra fine and barely noticeable, so skin is left looking luminous with a “soft-focused glow”.  I still love MAC’s powder the most because I can use it on my eyes as well but this Candlelight powder is a wonderful soft gold that makes you look radiant without being glittery.  A picture of the powder is below, and the camera flash picks up a lot more of the shimmer than actually shows when wearing the product:

Too Faced Candlelight Powder

Josie Maran Natural Volume Lip Gloss in Precious ($20)

I’m always on the hunt for my next favorite pink lip shade, and this one by Josie Maran has become my go-to gloss now.  I’ve tried a couple of her cosmetics and am very impressed.  All of her products have Argan oil in them.  This gloss is sheer petal pink that gives the most beautiful application and color.  It also has a great texture, it’s thick enough to stay on but creamy enough to not be sticky.  Love this lipgloss!  Picture below:

Josie Maran Natural Volume Lip Gloss in Precious

Have you tried any of these products?  I’d love to know your thoughts!

14 thoughts on “New Sephora Goodies!

  1. Hey Arantha! Can you explain why the mineral oil in the Clinique moisturizer is a turn off in a product? I feel silly for asking but now I’m totally intrigued. Thanks!!

    • Not silly at all! There are a lot of mixed opinions about mineral oil, and while I do use Vaseline on my lashes and on dry spots, I do try to avoid it in my skincare. Mineral oil is is a byproduct of the distellation of gasoline and is foreign to the human body and can clog pores, it’s also cheap to make but expensive to dispose of, which freaks me out! It’s in a ton of body lotions too and I don’t mind a small amount of that in my bodycare (I even use baby oil on my body in the summer sometimes to get a good hydrating sheen), but something about using it on my face puts me off and I believe that the main ingredient in Clinique’s lotion is mineral oil. Here are more details on the cons of mineral oil! http://www.herballuxuries.com/about-mineral-oil.html

  2. I’m obsessed with everything Josie Maran and this will definitely be the next thing I’m picking up from her line! Such a pretty color. Love Candlelight highlighter too! I’m going to have to subscribe to Test Tube. It sounds totally worth it b/c you’re always getting great, FULL size products.

    • Yes, you will love that lip gloss! The Candlelight is truly awesome, as is the Testtube subscription!!!!!! Tons of full sized products. The only thing about the Testtube is that I don’t think we fill out a form explaining our skin type, color preferences, hair needs, etc, so sometimes I get full sized items I would never use and that pisses me off haha. Like this last box one of my full sized items was a $35 super nice Dr. Brandt cleanser but it’s for oily skin and enlarged pores…um if I used that on my dry desert skin it would crack.

  3. Ah I have so many of these and love them! The only items I don’t have are the Evian spray and Candlelight. I agree, LM Tinted moisturizer is amazing… this with a dusting of mineral powder gives me such a flawless finish… and my skin is very far from flawless!

  4. Hello gorgeous! I’m eyeing that Josie lipgloss! I just got an amazing 500 point gift from Josie from Sephora. I also did a haul this weekend both Sat and Sun.. I’m awful! Tarte blushes are great btw, I have Tipsy and I wear in it the summer.. Love it!

    • That gloss would love LOVELY on you! They have lots of other shades too you may like. I love the Sephora gifts with points! I’m hoarding mine currently for something that wows me!

  5. i find that the nars gives me much better coverage than laura mercier! but i’m still tempted to buy another tube of laura mercier, lol! Also, return the clinique and buy something else lol! i love sephora’s return policy 🙂

  6. Pingback: Happy Things | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

