Simple, Ultra Black Smokey Eye & Luminous Skin (Perfect Look for Valentine’s Day!)

Black Smokey Eye with NYX black Jumbo Pencil & MAC Beauty Marked 5

With Valentine’s Day this week, I wanted to share my favorite sultry makeup look!  I only wear this for special occasions/nights on the town.  Details on how I got this look below!  Also, to get soft, romantic curls I followed these exact steps except I curled my hair toward my face instead of away like my tutorial demonstrates.

On another note, for this look I would highly suggest doing your eye makeup first and your concealer, foundation, etc. LAST.  You will likely have fallout that needs cleaned up  (i.e. black eyeshadow sprinkles under your eyes that will smear and make you look like racoon).  I would suggest using makeup wipes or a bit of coconut oil to clean up your under eye area before applying your face makeup.

Get the look!

003

{Clockwise from top left:  Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Dollface, Too Faced Candlelight, NYX Mega Shine Lip Gloss in Nude Pink, NYX Lip Liner in Nude, It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer, NARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer, L’Oreal Voluminous Mascara, MAC Prep + Prime lash primer, Mally Evercolor Starlight Waterproof Eyeliner in Midnight, NYX Studio Liquid Liner, MAC Beauty Marked, NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Black Bean, Lorac Behind the Scenes Eye Primer}

Step 1:  Prime lid (I used Lorac Behind the Scenes Eye Primer)

Step 2:  Using a jumbo black eyeliner, apply the liner all over lid, right up to your crease–this will look messy and scary, don’t worry about that!  It just acts as a great base for the eye shadow we are going to use and intensifies the color.  I got this technique from Tiffany D, watch how she does it here. Her tutorial is very helpful.  (I used NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Black Bean)

Step 3:  Using a a clean blending brush, blend blend blend the liner into the lid until it’s fairly smoothed out.  If you watch Tiffany’s tutorial that I linked above you will see how to do this if you are needing some guidance.

Step 4:  Complete the eyeshadow look by applying MAC Beauty Marked all over the lid and blend it into crease.  I was inspired by Tanya Burr’s tutorial where she only uses Beauty Marked for a quick smokey eye.

Step 5:  Blend well until the look is smooth and the color is evenly distributed all over lid and crease.  This may take some time to get it how you like it.  Keep applying and blending Beauty Marked until you get your desired look.  (Any black shadow will do, I like Beauty Marked because it has beautiful purple shimmer embedded in the matte black shadow)

Step 6:  Line upper lids with black liquid eyeliner (I used NYX Studio Liquid Liner in Extreme Black) and line your lower lids—your water line—with black pencil (I used Mally Evercolor Starlight Waterproof Eyeliner in Midnight)

Step 7:  Lash time!  For extra lush lashes I prime with MAC Prep + Prime, apply quite a few coats of L’Oreal Voluminous in Black, then add a couple of Ardell individual false lashes to the outer corners.

Black Smokey Eye with NYX black Jumbo Pencil & MAC Beauty Marked

Black Smokey Eye with NYX black Jumbo Pencil & MAC Beauty Marked 2

When I wear eye makeup this dramatic I like to keep the rest of my look really soft and youthful with light pink blush, a luminizing powder or highlighting cream and light lips.  On the rest of my face I’m wearing It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer, NARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer, Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Dollface and Too Faced Candlelight powder to add a diffused glow to my skin.

Black Smokey Eye with NYX black Jumbo Pencil & MAC Beauty Marked 7

I opted for an innocent peachy nude lip using NYX Lip Liner in Nude and NYX Mega Shine Lip Gloss in Nude Pink.

NYX Nude Lipliner with NYX Mega Shine Lip Gloss in Nude Pink 2

NYX Nude Lipliner with NYX Mega Shine Lip Gloss in Nude Pink

I hope you like this look and try it yourself!  It’s so simple and can be recreated with any creamy black eye pencil and black shadow.

17 thoughts on “Simple, Ultra Black Smokey Eye & Luminous Skin (Perfect Look for Valentine’s Day!)

  1. This look is beyond beautiful, strong eyes, soft lips and cheeks! Works great with your green eyes. Do you like the NYX jumbo eye pencil? How did it work out, as good as a powder eyeshadow? Thanks! Vera

    • Thanks Vera! I really like the NYX Jumbo Pencils…it does not take the place of an eyeshadow powder, it just acts as a great base for the shadow you will be using and intensifies the color. I have them in several shades and use them under most of my eye shadow looks lately, the black is great for any darker shadows. Good question, I updated my post to make that more clear. Thanks for reading!

  2. Too stunning! I love this look on you. Very sultry for v-day. Also your lashes look gorgeous! I wouldn’t detect there were some falsies in there, they are very natural.. Love Tanya Burr! Also you look a little like Leanne Rhymes in the top photo 🙂

  3. This look is absolutely gorgeous! I usually stick with mauve or brown tones when I do a smokey eye but this post definitely inspired me to be more daring. I’m excited to try this ultra black smokey eye look for Valentine’s Day! Great post!

    • Thanks Dev! Yea, it’s fun to play around with edgier looks some times, especially when you downplay the eyes using girly and innocent cheek and lip colors. This would look awesome on you. I also love earthy toned smokey eyes using the Lorac Unzipped palette you got me hooked on.

    • Thanks Rach! NYX makes seriously wonderful lip gloss. The Mally eyeliner is awesome, I got it in my Birchbox as a full sized item. It’s so creamy and pigmented. It’s not selft sharpening though, which bugs, so I end up destroying some of the pencil when I sharpen it. but it’s fantastic.

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

