New Haircare Faves!

new haircare faves!

So I know I did a post just recently sharing some haircare favorites (see that one here), but I’m a product junkie and my favorites change a lot. I still love the products mentioned in that post and would suggest them to anyone. Here are the details on some new products I’m loving!

Rusk Deepshine Color Hydrate Shampoo & Conditioner ($15 each)

My cousin introduced me to this Rusk line over the holidays and I’ve been hooked ever since. The shampoo is sulfate-free but lathers really well and does thoroughly cleanse my roots. Both the shampoo and conditioner are full of Vitamin E and marine botanicals to nourish hair and protect during styling. It makes my hair so soft and so so so shiny. The smell is great, very fresh and ocean-like with a touch of coconut.

Pantene Pro-V 2-Minute Moisture Hair Masque ($6.29)

Wow. When you rinse this conditioner out your hair is left so silky and smooth and full of shine. It really only takes 2 minutes so it’s perfect to do while shaving. The silkiness may come from the fact that silicone (dimethicone) is the second ingredient. Pantene is known for putting boat loads of silicone in their haircare to give you that shiny and soft look. While almost every conditioner and hair serum I use does have dimethicone in it, Pantene is one of the only products I’ve found that makes it one of the core ingredients. I can honestly say I don’t care if it is silicone that’s making my hair feel like heavenly satin. I still use my coconut oil and Ojon treatment once or twice a week to deeply nourish. This stuff just makes my hair incredibly manageable and soft, it’s great to use once a week!

Like with all deep conditioners, remember to really squeeze out all excess moisture from your hair in the shower before using the product so it can absorb into your hair follicle and give you the best results.

Aveda Brilliant Humectant Pomade ($20)

I used to swear by this stuff and have just rediscovered it. To really grow my hair out and keep it healthy I’m avoiding curling irons and blow dryers as much as possible. To wear my hair naturally I need products that will coax out the natural wave. You only need the smallest amount of this pomade and you just rub it between your hands and apply to hair by scrunching (If you apply too much it weighs your hair down and makes it greasy). It makes my hair shiny, soft and wavy, plus it smells so good.  It’s called a humectant because it retains and attracts moisture, which brings out waves.  Living in such a dry, desert climate I need this.  If you live in a humid place this may not be a good choice.

To see all my steps for enhancing my natural waves click here. I still use all those products and now the Aveda pomade is a part of it. This sounds like a LOT of products but I’m using very small amounts of each.

Here’s a picture of me from last weekend after using this pomade in addition to the rest of my wavy hair arsenal and air drying my hair.  (Note** apply the pomade to hair that’s still damp but starting to dry…make it one of the last steps.  Also, completely steer clear of your roots with this product.):

20130224-113132.jpg

Have you tried any of these products?  What are your current haircare faves?

2 thoughts on “New Haircare Faves!

  1. So glad you love that shampoo & conditioner!! It’s definitely the best sulfate free that I’ve tried to date. I’m going to try that deep conditioner. Pantene leaves my hair smelling sooo good!

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

