Beauty of the Month: Jade of Kissable Complexions

I am so excited to introduce you to the beautiful Jade.  I discovered her amazing beauty website, Kissable Complexions, through Pinterest and we have become blog friends!  She’s an incredible makeup artist and I look forward to reading her blog every day.  Jade shares all her wonderful knowledge about beauty and skincare on her blog and I’ve learned quite a few things from her(like how to tell if you are warm or cool toned)!

Not only is Jade drop dead gorgeous, she is an absolute sweetheart so I just had to feature her on Gourmet Beauty.  Enjoy!

jade kissable complexions

Tell my readers about your gorgeous self!

Hello Darlings!  I’m Jade Marie Baird, a San Diego, CA native currently living in Alpine, Utah! I have been a makeup artist for events and weddings for 5 years, as well as a medical Esthetician. I am also a recent newlywed to my sweetheart, Chris, and we have a baby, our puppy Luna! I started my beauty business Kissable Complexions around 4 years ago.  I specialize in Airbrush Makeup Artistry for events, weddings, fashion,  and more. I also do lash extensions, chemical peels, facials, waxing, airbrush spray tans, and hair styling. You can call me the one stop beauty shop 🙂 I recently started my blog, where I do product reviews, makeup and hair tips, and dish about anything that has to do with beauty! Making women feel confident and gorgeous in their own skin is my mission, whether it be through skincare or makeup, I love it all!

What are your 5 beauty essentials you can’t live without?

Jade's Top 5 Beauty Essentials

1. NARS Copacabana highlighter This is one of my favorite liquid highlighters that I own. It gives a pearly sheen to the complexion and highlights the cheekbones beautifully.

2. SUN spray tan– Since I’m an Esthetician, I’m very careful about going in the sun, so I fake a great tan when I want to with SUN’s spray-on gradual tan in “Dark.”  This solution is the same that they use in most Mystic tanning machines.  It gives you a nice glow and gradually gets darker over night.

3. La Mer ToniqueThis hydrating facial mist picks me right up every morning, a few spritzes on my face and chest rejuvenate my skin and leave a healthy glow.  I also like to apply two squirts on my face after applying my makeup for a nice shine.

4. House of Lashes– I love this brand of lashes, they have natural all the way to dramatic sizes for any event. I love how they are reusable as well. My favorite lashes from them are the “Femme Fatale,” they are in between natural and glam, with a slight cat eye look!

5.  NYX Lipgloss– I like the smell, taste and texture of NYX’s creamy lipglosses. They aren’t sticky which is great and last a long time on the lips! My favorite color is Sugar Pie- a pink nude color that looks great on anyone!

jade 3

Who is your beauty icon?

That is a hard one, there are so many beautiful women I admire in the world! Adriana Lima has always been a stunner to me. I love her exotic look and face structure.  Also, she loves to box to stay in shape so we share that in common!

The natural look:  underrated or overrated?

I am 50/50 on this statement. As much as I love the natural look and always encourage the style for most, for myself I’m more of a glitz and glam gal. It all depends on the day though, you will never see me with the same look during the week. Having my beauty blog allows me to be fun and creative with each makeup style and step out of the “natural” box. For my wedding I even did a smokey eye which is very uncommon but I just feel it is so sexy. Usually  most of my brides request a very natural look, It’s just all about preference!

jade wedding 3

Signature fragrance?

I have two that I love.  Angel by Thierry Mugler is a combination of spice and sweetness and my second option is Crème de Pistache Eau Gourmande by Laura Mercier- The ultimate dessert scent. I love anything that has sweetness to it and these two do just that.

Lipstick or lipgloss?

Both- Lipstick then lipgloss, or lip creme sheens, which are lipsticks with a glossy shine to them. My favorite color is Dior’s Angelique Beige, a great combination of nude peach, perfect for any occasion and super moisturizing!

Favorite skincare product?

I have worked with many different lines over the years, from organics to more medicinal products. My passion stuck with medical esthetics because I feel I see quicker results with them. My absolute favorite skin care product is my Lucrece Nano B5 Peptide Complex– a total mouthful, I know! This is what keeps my skin moisturized and firm all day long. It’s filled with 30% Hyluronic Acid and B5 complexes which make the skin super hydrated and provides anti-aging at the same time. I would suggest this serum to anyone!

Go-to nail polish shade?

To me, having my nails done is an absolute must, and I always get comments on the shape of my nails because not many people do the ‘Stiletto’ shape these days. OPI is my favorite brand of polishes, for a great nude color try Barefoot in Barcelona. I recently did a post on my favorite spring color- L’Oreal in Lacey Lilac.

jade nails 2

3 items you always carry in your purse?

Laura Mercier’s Creme Brulee hand cream– a yummy lotion on the go, DUO eyelash glue- just in case a lash goes loose, and EOS lip balm in ‘passion fruit’- this egg shaped lip moisture goes with me everywhere.

Cheapest beauty item you love?

E.L.F Shimmering Facial Whip, it’s only $1!!  Check out my post about it here.

Favorite expensive beauty item?

Sisley Paris Instant Perfect Gel-This pricey tube ($70) is pure magic. It covers pores, fine lines, wrinkles wonderfully and is a great corrective foundation base.

jade 4

As a makup artist you must be full of industry secrets, tips and tricks! Spill!

I say the biggest secret, that’s not a secret anymore, is definitely contouring these days. It seems like just this year many women are learning the contour and highlight technique. being able to shadow your face to achieve a slimmer nose or more defined cheek bones is great to know. Highlighting to me is the most important beauty trick a gal could do, remember to apply your highlight on the upper cheekbones into the temples to achieve that “Kardashian Glow” everyone craves.

jade 5

Best beauty items to save on?  What should you splurge on?

Splurge on your skin care- it’s what counts, You can fake a great look with makeup, but you can’t fake whats underneath!

Save on lipsticks- you can find so many gorgeous colors for a great price at drugstores, as much as a love my YSLs and Diors, some of my favorite lip shades have come from Target. Revlon and L’Oreal, to name a few.

jade hair

Your hair is seriously amazing.  What’s your secret?

I have had long hair since I can remember, and I use great products to take care of it and keep it healthy. I wash my hair every other day with Pureology’s Hydrate shampoo, condition with MoroccanOil conditioner, Spritz my hair with Pureology Glossing Mist, hydrate my ends with MoroccanOil treatment, then I will give myself a blow out for extra volume. For a quick hair trick, try mixing 1/3 cup of Castor Oil into your conditioner once a month for an easy deep condition.  Here are more of my hair tips!

Health and fitness is also a passion of yours.  How do you stay in such great shape?

I have always been an avid fitness lover.  I worked at a boxing club for 4 years in California where I helped train on the side and was very into nutritional health.  I have a small gym now in my basement where I do all my fitness training, from boxing to Interval training. My weekly workout schedule is usually 30 minutes of intense boxing for cardio three times a week, lots of 10 min intervals of jump rope & consistent full body, arms and leg weight training to stay toned!  In the future I plan on having a side hobby training women to get in shape after babies!

jade fitness

Fave healthy snack?

Almond butter with chia seeds on Apples

Food indulgence?

Pistachio gelato gets me every time

Go-to healthy, easy recipe?

To stay in shape I include clean eating in my everyday diet. This consists of healthy greens, fruits, and proteins. I also enjoy juicing each week.  Here are two of my favorite healthy recipes:

{Skin Detox juicing recipe}

  • 2 whole apples
  • 2 whole oranges with peel {extra vitamin C for the skin}
  • handful of spinach
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 3 large carrots
  • 1 whole lime

IMG_8320

{Homemade protein bars}

I make these every week instead of buying granola bars and they are much healthier, and yummy!

  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup cranberries
  • 1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup agave
  • Mix all together
  • apply into a deep dish and let sit in fridge over night!

Jade juicing

Quick skinny tip?

Embrace the body you have, any shape or size, you are beautiful in your own skin. To me skinny isn’t always sexy, I think strong & toned is sexy. A quick tip that I always do is drink Kombucha Tea- my favorite detoxifying drink. This is my little secret out of the box. It has quite a bitter taste but after I drink it I feel so much healthier and more cleansed all around. It rejuvenates your body and kicks it back in to gear after a hard workout!

Hope you enjoyed a small peek into my life, for more tips on anything beauty follow me at Kissablecomplexions.blogspot.com

Instagram: Jadeywadey180

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kissable-Complexions/135070526568467

Questions on beauty? Jadembaird@gmail.com

xox Jade Marie

Here’s a look at some of Jade’s amazing makeup artistry:

makeup 2

makeup jade

10 thoughts on “Beauty of the Month: Jade of Kissable Complexions

  1. I got SO excited when I saw this post! I just recently discovered her on Pinterest after seeing her gorgeous face pop up on my feed everyday. She is so talented as a makeup artist! I would love to make a special trip to Utah– just so she could do my makeup 🙂 House of Lashes are the absolute best lashes, although I have never tried the Femme Fatale. I’m definitely going to have to order those. Fantastic inspiration and tips! Loooved this post!

  2. Pingback: Happy Things | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

