My Favorite Mascaras (all from the drugstore!)

the 3 best mascaras!

Mascara is my favorite step of putting makeup on each day.  It totally transforms you.  I have tried a million different kinds and these three are my all time faves.  The best part is that all three are from the drugstore!

mascara close up

1.  L’Oreal Voluminous

Voluminous Mascara

The original formula and the carbon black are so amazing.  This mascara is loved by many celebrity makeup artists and is a classic beauty staple. It leaves lashes soft and flexible, not crispy and stiff like other brands.  The fat brush coats lashes with a thick layer of mascara and leaves them super full.  If you like more natural-looking lashes this mascara is not for you.  I like to layer mascaras sometimes and I’ll use a more defining mascara on the bottom and then plump my lashes up with a few coats of this stuff on top.

2.  L’Oreal Voluminous False Fiber Lashes Black Lacquer

151

The original Voluminous was always my favorite until I tried this kicked up version.  WOW.  This stuff is hands down the best mascara I’ve ever used.  It has sculpting fibers that attach to your lashes and make them fuller, longer and amazing.  The brush on this mascara is great because it’s fat enough to really plump the lashes but the bristles also separate so you aren’t left with any clumps like the original Voluminous mascara can sometimes do.  I really like applying a few coats of this first and then a few final coats of the original Voluminous for added fullness.  Try this mascara, you won’t be sorry!  I would suggest it in the Black Lacquer formula (pictured) but they have brown and regular black too.

3.  CoverGirl LashBlast Volume

152

This is the perfect mascara for every single person, whatever your mascara preference is.  With just 1-2 coats it leaves your lashes looking enhanced and natural, and with several more coats you are left with glamorous, thick, long lashes and NO clumps.  I love the fat brush and the bristles keep adding more volume on the lashes while also ensuring no clumps gather up.  Even though this is the volume formula I find that it lengthens really well too.  Every morning I either start with a few coats of this mascara or the Voluminous False Fiber, then finish with a few coats of the original Voluminous.

**MY favorite lash trick is to prime them!  Apply a couple coats of a lash primer before your mascara.  It thickens and lengthens the lashes, makes the mascara last longer and helps prevent flaking…plus it conditions your lashes!  My favorite is MAC Prep + Prime Lash.**

158

104{In the pictures I primed my lashes with MAC Prep + Prime Lash and then applied several coats of CoverGirl LashBlast and a few coats of L’Oreal Voluminous on top.  Lipstick is MAC Candy Yum-Yum.}

What’s your fave mascara??

11 thoughts on “My Favorite Mascaras (all from the drugstore!)

  1. Good information. Like you, my favorite mascara is also from the drugstore! I always end up reaching for it and not for the pricier ones I have. By the way, you have the most gorgeous eyecolor Arantha.

  2. You hit this one right on for me! These really are the best. Also, that primers makes a day and night difference! Great post!

  3. Can’t wait to try the 2nd one…so far the first has been my fav but I’m still not 100% sold so the new formula sounds great!!

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

