Simple Summer Beauty Routine-Winged Liner and Bright Lips

summer beauty--winged linger and bright lips 2

With the dry heat summer brings to New Mexico, switching up my beauty routine is a must.  I like to keep it simple and fresh with a touch of glam during these hot months.  To me this means trading in my sultry dark eye shadows and black kohl-rimmed eyes for a simple winged liner, bronzer, highlighter and a bright lipstick.  Here’s my go-to look lately and all the products I use to achieve it!

summer beauty products

{Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer, L’Oreal True Match Lumi foundation, Urban Decay Naked Basics eyeshadow palette, Maybelline black gel eye liner, Smashbox Bronze Lights in Suntan Matte, Tarte Dollface blush, Victoria’s Secret VS PRO Radiant FX Face Illuminator, CoverGirl LashBlast mascara}

summer beauty--winged linger and bright lips 3

Get the look!

EYES

(I do my eyeshadow and liner first but save mascara and brows for the end!)

Step 1.  Apply primer to your lids ( I used MAC Painterly Paint Pot)

Step 2.  Apply Foxy and W.O.S from the Basics palette all over lid and up into brow bone

Step 3.  Apply a mixture of Naked2 and Faint from the Basics palette in your crease to warm up the eye and give some depth while still looking really natural

Step 4.  Use the Venus shade as a highlight and apply it to your brow bone and in the inner corners of your eyes

Step 5.  Apply your liner!  For this look I used Maybelline gel liner.  I’ll be doing another post soon with all the tips and tricks you need to know for how to master winged liner.  If you aren’t comfortable doing it just line your eyes as your normally would with a black pencil on the top only.

winged liner essentials

{ The perfect combo for achieving a winged eye:  Maybelline gel eyeliner with the Sigma E65 brush—the most amazing eyeliner brush and it’s only $10!!}

FACE

Step 6:  Apply your foundation or tinted moisturizer.  I am LOVING the L’Oreal True Match Lumi and I apply it with a Sigma F84 Angled Kabuki or a BeautyBlender.  If you used foundation instead of tinted moisturizer use very sparingly since this is a fresh summer look that a “cake face” doesn’t go well with!  🙂  My natural skintone is the shade N1-2 in the Lumi line.  During the summer when I have been using self-tanner I combine N1-2 with N4 and I get the perfect shade for my summer skin!

Step 7:  Apply concealer.  I’ve been really liking the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind.

Step 8:  Apply your bronzer with a big fluffy brush!  I am absolutely in love with Smashbox Bronze Lights in Suntan Matte and I apply it with an F20 brush by Sigma.  The Smashbox bronzer has no shimmer so you can apply it all over and it gives such a gorgeous, natural looking glow.  Apply the bronzer all over your face and down your neck.

Step 9:  Blush time!  I looooove the Tarte Amazonian Clay blushes, especially Dollface, a bright baby pink.  I apply it with the same Sigma F20 brush I use for bronzer.

Step 10:  Highlighter!  For this look I used the Victoria’s Secret VS PRO Radiant FX Face Illuminator.  It has a pinky bronze color that’s really nice in the summer and the liquid formula leaves a dewy finish.  I apply this liquid highlighter with the Sigma F86 Tapered Kabuki brush.  I apply a small pump on my hand, dab the end of the brush in the product and lightly dab on my cheekbones, down the center of my nose and just a touch on my chin and in between my eyebrows.  Use sparingly or else you will be way to shimmery!

Step 11:  Mascara and eye brows.  I like to save these two steps for last.  Apply several coats of black mascara (I used CoverGirl LashBlast).  I fill in my brows with NYX Eyebrow Cake Powder in Blonde.

Maybelline Fuschia Fever with Maybelline Vivids Pink Pop on top

LIPS

Step 12:  Bright lips!  For this look I applied Maybelline Fuschia Fever and Maybelline Vivids Pink Pop on top.  Gorgeous combo!  Each of these shades is also great on its own.

summer lips:  Maybelline Pink Pop and Maybelline Fuschia Fever{Maybelline Vivids Pink Pop and Maybelline Fuschia Fever}

summer beauty--winged linger and bright lips

I’ll be sharing a post soon on all the best winged linger tricks and another one on my favorite makeup brushes!!

XO

7 thoughts on “Simple Summer Beauty Routine-Winged Liner and Bright Lips

  1. Such a fun summer look! I’m def looking forward to the future post on how to master the winged eye liner look! I always want to try it but always chicken out because I don’t know how to do it!! Thanks Arantha!! 🙂

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

