Beauty of the Month: Britanie Faith of Beauty By Britanie

Britanie 3

Meet Britanie, the natural beauty behind the blog Beauty By Britanie.  This pretty lady has sworn off all unnatural products and only uses skincare and makeup that is made of 100% pure and clean ingredients.  She has some wonderful insight on the best natural products to use so I asked her to share all her knowledge!  Enjoy!

Introduce yourself!

My name is Britanie and I am 28 yrs. young and feel better now then when I was in my teens. I was searching for years for the “remedy” for some chronic illnesses that had plagued me since I was 13. After many doctor visits, exploratory procedures, etc.. I was found to have endometriosis, fibromyalgia, gastro-reflux disease and chronic digestive issues. I followed along the typical medical route with many different medicines and side effects according to the treatment protocols. I must say the side effects where sometimes worse than the illness symptoms.I decided there had to be a better way, so I studied English, Psychology and Fine Arts at college and did many hours of reading and research. I have learned many natural ways to cope with the health challenges that I still face. I wanted to share my knowledge with others without it being too intense and overwhelming. My blog beautybybritanie.com incorporates a comprehensive look at beauty both inside and out. I firmly believe that they go hand in hand. I like to always think positive and be proactive with life. I love creating concoctions, practicing yoga and pilates, reading, meditating, exploring new places with my camera in hand, cooking and researching to find natural ways to continue to heal myself and others.

What are your five beauty essentials you can’t live without?

Britanie's Fave Products

1.  Dr. Bronner’s Liquid Castile Soap in Peppermint (though I love literally all of the scents)

2.  Raw Organic Coconut Oil

3.  Frankincense Oil (read all about why I love it here!)

4.  Raw Manuka Honey

5.  Rosewater & Glycerine facial water.

What inspired you to switch to all natural beauty and skincare products?

After suffering from chronic health issues, I started to become somewhat of a “health nut” and decided to switch over my diet to pure foods. I cut out gluten, dairy, soy and most processed foods. I have always been interested in eating healthy and I one day realized that the makeup and skincare products I was using were NOT pure. After reading the ingredients in the beauty products I was using, I was appalled at what some of these beauty companies that I had grown up loving were allowing to put into their products. I started researching the harmful effects of using these ingredients and learned that up to 70% of what we put ON our skin is absorbed INTO our bloodstreams and that really freaked me out enough to completely make the switch over to natural products and I haven’t looked back since!

What has been your favorite part of switching to all natural products?

Although I never suffered from any severe skin issues, I never had that “glow” to my skin and I did have occasional breakouts and redness. Since switching to natural products my skin has never looked better. My hair is healthier than it has ever been and I FEEL better knowing that what I put on my skin is not going to affect me internally in any negative way since I am so cautious about what ingredients I put on my skin. I also love the natural beauty community and have met so many amazing and inspiring people and companies.

Fave natural brands?

For natural cosmetics lines I have four brands that come instantly to mind: RMS Beauty, Jane Iredale, Vapour Organic Beauty, W3LL People.  All of these brands are extremely clean and I have never tried a product from any of these brands that I didn’t fall in love with immediately.

As for skincare, although I love and recommend many brands, Osmia Organics is my all-time favorite skincare line and was one of the first lines I discovered after switching entirely over to natural products. I trust everything that goes into the making of the products and know that I can never go wrong with anything from them.

Britanie

If you could only wear one item of makeup what would it be?

It would have to be concealer because I have dark circles no matter how much sleep I get and concealer is my best friend for that! It’s also great if you have any redness or an occasional breakout. You can’t go wrong with having a good concealer.

Who is your beauty icon?

Marilyn Monroe and Lana Del Rey.

Signature fragrance?

Anything vanilla. I have a serious vanilla obsession.

Lipstick or lipgloss?

I prefer lipgloss though I do appreciate good lipsticks and I am also a big lipbalm girl. My favorite lip products are from RMS Beauty. I love their Lip Shines and Lip2Cheek pots.

Favorite skincare product?

I love coconut oil. It is my go-to skincare product. It can work as a cleanser and moisturizer.

britanie 5

Quick beauty tip?

Curl your lashes! It seems insignificant but can make the biggest difference in making your entire face appear more “wide awake” and this is especially great for those of us who have short and thin lashes!

What is your cheapest beauty item you love?

I’d have to say Spices like Turmeric and Nutmeg. I love these seemingly “simple” ingredients for my beauty routines. I love to add Turmeric to my homemade facial masks with raw honey, it’s amazing for the skin. Nutmeg is amazing for calming eczema. I also love organic oils and essential oils and LEMONS! They are wonderful for skin. Beauty doesn’t have to be complicated or expensive. You just have to open up your mind and create 🙂

Favorite expensive beauty product?

May Lindstrom’s entire skincare line. Her products are my most luxurious beauty products. They make me happy and my skin loves them.

Your hair looks so pretty and healthy! Spill your secrets!

Thank you so much! My hair has never been healthier since I switched over to natural products. I actually don’t have much of a haircare routine. I shampoo twice a week and rarely use conditioner. I believe that less is more, especially in regards to hair. I highly recommend Jojoba Oil and Neem Oil for hair growth, Apple Cider Vinegar for the shiniest and softest hair you’ve ever seen and felt and Coconut Oil for weekly deep conditioning masks. I plan to do an updated haircare routine on my blog soon!

britanie hair 2

You also like to make a lot of skincare products at home! What’s your fave DIY beauty recipe?

I LOVE creating concoctions. It is one of my favorite things to do. I am constantly in my kitchen working up new recipes. My favorite DIY recipes I have come up with so far are these two!

DIY | Ayurvedic Inspired Hydrating and Purifying Face Mask

DIY Ayurvedic Inspired Hydrating and Purifying Face Mask

DIY | Clarifying Rooibos Facial Toner

DIY Clarifying Rooibos Facial Toner

_______________________________________________________

I hope you enjoyed meeting the beautiful Britanie!  Check our her blog for more DIY beauty recipes, beauty reviews and more!  You can also find miss Britanie on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram (@britaniefaith).

6 thoughts on “Beauty of the Month: Britanie Faith of Beauty By Britanie

  1. These are some great tips! Thanks Arantha and Britanie! I use Dr. Bonner’s Lavender soap diluted with water for my face cleansing routine too! My face feels so clean after using it, and the lavender is super calming for my skin! I love the idea of going all natural…it really does make the most sense. Especially after reading the 70% skin absorption statistic. YIKES!!

  2. She has such a fantastic, informative blog! I am a huge fan of Manuka Honey as well. Definitely going to have to try some of these other products and concoctions she recommends! Great post!

  3. Pingback: The Best of 2013 – Beauty By Britanie

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

