My Summer Essentials!

Summer…the season for cold drinks, fresh produce, having outside fun with friends and family and a low maintenance beauty routine.  I have a few body products and makeup items that I have sworn by this summer and when I use just these things and nothing else I feel refreshed and pulled together!  Here they are:

112

Lush Buffy Bar:  This exfoliating in-shower body butter is a year-round essential.  I especially love it for summer to keep my skin smooth and soft.  Rub this all over your body after cleansing, then rinse off.  The ground almonds and rice scrub off any bumps while the cocoa and shea butter base deeply hydrates.  AMAZING stuff.

Kai Perfume Oil:  Summer in a bottle.  This gardenia scented perfume oil smells like the tropical Hawaii air and I cannot get enough.  Fresh and clean yet sexy and warm, this floral scent is a summer necessity.

C.O. Bigelow Mentha Body Wash:  Refreshment in a bottle.  This energizing body wash smells of pure peppermint and really wakes you up…perfect for the morning and after a sweaty workout.  Jon and I are both addicted to this minty green soap and it scents up the whole bathroom.  Run to Bath & Body Works and get your hands on this stuff.  It leaves your whole body tingling and minty fresh.

Jergens Natural Glow Firming Lotion in Medium to Tan:  I use this rich body lotion every day for deeply hydrated skin and a nice bronze glow.  This stuff helps maintain my tan…see all my tanning faves here.

lip favesMAC Candy Yum Yum lipstick:  This HOT pink shade is made for summer.  The insanely bright color is so unique, I don’t have any other hot pinks like it.  While the matte formula is drying it really lasts on the lips and I’ve been sporting it basically every weekend when we have somewhere to go.  This color is too exciting and amazing not to show off.  Paired with minimal makeup it’s the perfect summer look!

Covergirl Hot Passion lipstick:  I’ve recently started rocking red lips and this shade is the first one I purchased.  It’s a matte red with just a touch of orange that’s wonderful for the summer months, although I’ll definitely be wearing this in fall and winter too.  I have a tutorial coming soon on how I’ve been wearing this lippy lately!  Stay tuned for that!

Sephora Ultra Shine Lip Gloss in Pin Up Pink:  When I’m not in the mood for the maintenance of one of these bright lipsticks I pop this super shiny and super pink gloss on my lips.  The formula is really creamy, the hour glass-shaped applicator is awesome and the color is so bright and pretty!  I’m sick of being disappointed after purchasing a gloss that looks like a pigmented shade in the tube but is basically just another clear gloss on the lips…not this stuff!!  And this shade will look good on EVERYONE!

summer makeup faves

Tarte Amazonian Clay Matte Waterproof Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess:  I picked this up during their recent 30% off sale after hearing rave reviews about it all over YouTube.  I am so glad I did…it’s the perfect tan shade for most skin types and it lasts forever on the skin like all Tarte Amazonian Clay products.  I also like to use it as an eye shadow in my crease.  Everyone needs a good bronzer and I would say this is the best one I’ve tried.  And there’s no shimmer which is crucial for me so I can apply it all over my face or as a contour.  LOVE THIS STUFF!!!

Revlon Lash Potion Waterproof Mascara:  I usually steer clear of waterproof mascaras because I hate the texture of it once it dries on my lashes.  During the summer though I do wear waterproof mascara if I’ve going to be outdoors and I am in LOVE with the Lash Potion from Revlon.  It has a fat brush that really packs on the volume while all the bristles comb through and leave you clump free.  I have the regular formula as well but I find that one does flake throughout the day so their waterproof version is my go-to lately.  Plus the packaging is so cute!

Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner in Jet Black:  Everything about this liquid eyeliner is perfection.  The super thin marker tip gives you precise, jet black lines and I can easily and quickly make my staple cat eye I’ve been wearing all summer.  And this liner does NOT BUDGE.  It’s as black and precise at the end of my day as it was when I first applied it in the morning.

Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette:  In my opinion, everyone needs this palette.  Wether you love dramatic looks or are more of a natural-look kinda girl, this palette is for you.  I have been using the lightest shades every single day and then applying some bronzer in my crease for a really natural, matte eye that goes great with winged liner and a bright lip.  This palette is perfect year-round, I’ve just been loving the light shades for summer.

summer nail picks

Essie Butler Please:  An insanely gorgeous bright blue.  This is such a beautiful color and the shade depends on the lighting you’re in…in direct light it’s a brilliant, electric blue.  Love love love this polish!!!  I’ll definitely continue polishing my fingers and toes with this in the fall.

Essie Bikini So Teeny:  This sparkling baby blue polish is a summer essential.  The blue shade is so peaceful and the micro-shimmer adds a really playful touch.

Urban Outfitters Freakin Pink:  Hot neon pink…this shade screams summer!  It’s so bright that the color shocks me, in a good way, every time I look at my nails when I wear this polish!

Essie Too Too Hot:  A bright coral red…I love this color on my toes but it’s fun on fingers too.  It’s the perfect summer red!

What are you summer essentials?  Are any of these gems on your list too?  XO

7 thoughts on “My Summer Essentials!

  1. Great products for summer! I always love your bright and bold lipstick shades this season and that Kai fragrance sounds heavenly! I look forward to pampering you next week! Have a great time in Portland! xo

  2. I am loving the Stila eyeliner too! I really loved the Eyeko, but I think this has better staying power. I need a good waterproof, so i went and bought the Lash Potion yesterday after reading this! I can’t wait to try it!! Is it as good as the ‘ol faithfuls? 🙂

    • The eyeliner is AMAZING! I loved the Eyeko too, but this is just so black and waterproof!!! I hope you like the Lash Potion…mascara is SUCH a personal preference. For me it really is up there with my Voluminous, LashBlast, etc. Oh, and I just tried the Voluminous Full Definition in the gold tube and I love it!!!

  3. Pingback: Summer Red | Gourmet Beauty

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

