Skinny Vanilla Candy Cane Cupcakes (and an apology for being MIA!)

Skinny Vanilla Candy Cane Cupcakes

Merry Christmas Eve Beauties!  I’m back today with the perfect festive holiday treat that’s, of course, low in calories!  Before we get into the cupcakes, I do want to apologize for disappearing from the blogosphere for the last 3 months.

During these last 3 months I have experienced the biggest professional success of my career so far ( I was promoted to management at the company I work for), and I’ve also struggled through what has been the darkest, most challenging time in my personal life.  Juggling these two extremes has kept me from many things I love doing, including blogging.  I’m certainly feeling a lot better and I do fully plan on returning to blogging in 2014!

Now, on to the good stuff!  These delicious cupcakes have a consistency similar to angel food thanks to the greek yogurt and egg whites that replace the oil and eggs, and the icing is a sugary sweet glaze.  Topping them with crushed candy canes adds a festive look and flavor.  If you want these even more peppermint-y you could add peppermint extract to the batter or even add crushed candy canes to it as well.

Happy Holidays to all of you!  I so appreciate each and every one of you and I wish you a safe, cozy, healthy holiday with loved ones.  XO

Skinny Vanilla Candy Cane Cupcakes

Enjoy!

Skinny Vanilla Candy Cane Cupcakes

Makes 24 cupcakes

Adapted from Skinnytaste

Ingredients

  • 18.25 oz Duncan Hines French Vanilla cake mix (or yellow, classic white)
  • 6 oz fat free plain Chobani yogurt
  • 1 1/3 cups water
  • 2 large egg whites

For the icing:

  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 tsp clear vanilla extract (I didn’t have clear so I used the regular brown kind and my icing was not as snow white as I wanted)
  • 2-3 tbsp boiling water
  • crushed candy canes

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350°. Line cupcake tins with liners
    Combine all the cake ingredients in a large mixing bowl and beat until combined. Pour into prepared liners. Bake about 15-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Allow to cool before frosting.
  • For the vanilla icing, combine powdered sugar, melted butter and water and beat until smooth.
  • Glaze the cooled cupcakes with the icing, then quickly top each cupcake with desired amount of crushed candy cane (this frosting hardens quickly so work fast!)
8 thoughts on “Skinny Vanilla Candy Cane Cupcakes (and an apology for being MIA!)

Thanks for your feedback, gorgeous!

